How I Made This Painting - Pt 2

in #illustration7 years ago

Happy Saturday everyone!

I'd like to share with you guys a bit more about this painting that I created last week and the process I went through to make it. It was a doozy.

Here is the finished product:

tugboat girls.jpg

But there were a LOT of steps to get to that.

This painting challenged me in a lot of ways - it was a break outside of my normal style, it was multiple characters in the same scene, I was putting them in an environment that had a lot of depth and color.

I had to figure out how to light the background so that it was beautiful and interesting, but also didn't distract from the characters.

I started with a sketch:

tugboat painting_0000_1.jpg

I did this in my sketchbook while on a break at work. It seemed like a fun challenge to draw all of these characters interacting with each other, and I wanted to create more finished pieces for my portfolio.

After that, I did a cleaner sketch, translating my pencil-drawn doodle into Photoshop.

tugboat painting_0001_2.jpg

Then I looked up a lot of references for jungles, trees, and forest lighting, on the old Google machine. I started painting. I made a time lapse of my painting process of the characters which you can view here.

And then I started to paint the background! Here's a gif compilation of how all of those components came together.

Webp.net-gifmaker (8).gif

This gif oversimplified the process a lot, I struggled initially with the color palette of the forest and getting the lighting and depth to read correctly. Then, I committed to getting more greens/yellows in the background, and more blues/darker tones in the foreground. I'm happy with how it came out.

Overall, this was a huge challenge but really fun. I'm glad I tried something new, and I learned a lot.

Thanks for checking it out!

Sort:  

I love how you draw, but what I love the most is how you color :O!!! it's so amazing!!

Congratulations @zoeserbin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48