You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Boys Have More Diverse Friends When Racial Identity is Secure

in #identity7 years ago (edited)

In 8th grade the almost all white school I was at, in my grade there were only 2 black brothers and 2 asian kids and the rest white but there was another set of black brothers that just came that year and were a grade below me. We were on the same school bus.It was the first day of school and after school, heading to the bus, I was chasing my friend who made a quick dart and got on the bus, I forgot what he did but made me mad non the less and the new kids, the older one who got held back one grade tried to stand up for my ahole friend. We became really good friends right there and then. I don't recall why or how but I think he wanted to fight me when he realized that I was justified on chasing my other friend down. We three were good friends after that and we would play ball on the regular. I had lost touch after that year as I was going into high school, only seen them one time at the mall, hardly recognized them after they saw me. I never became friends with the other brothers, I want to say because I was kinda poor and most everyone in my class was upper middle class so there was a divide so to speak, and it seemed that I would make friends with the other poor kids who didn't dawn A&F and American Eagle clothes worth more than my whole wardrobe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45