You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The New World Order

in #hype6 years ago

Tauchain is hard for my mind to grasp. I'll have to keep trying, because your enthusiasm is contagious and you've led me down some good intellectual paths before.


So here's the big white elephant: why are there so many cryptocurrency supporters still actively using status quo media platforms like Twitter, Facebook, and Youtube? The power these platforms wield are just too damn high, knowing they're all concentrated into just a handful of companies in Silicon Valley with insane-levels of leverage over millions and billions of users.

I think this quote represents a mental blind spot or at least a disagreement on principle between us... Do you think decentralization must fully displace centralization?

Seems more likely to me that Facebook, Twitter, and/or others continue to exist alongside decentralized systems. You'll use the Steem API to upvote content on those systems (with gov't regulations too burdensome for Amazon, FB, etc to launch their own full-scale tokens), and people may even use Facebook's API (despite the horror of the anti-FBers) to quickly and conveniently share data to their blockchain services that don't want to store that stuff.

Maybe in the LONG scale, we move past centralized systems entirely. But I'll be shocked to see anything like that in the next 10 years.

Sort:  

Haha I don't believe decentralisation must fully displace centralisation, hence the "hype" tag in case anyone thinks I came off as a maximalist. Don't think that's even something possible. But I do think anything that becomes too massive for anyone to handle will flow into alternatives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47