First Impressions of the Mossberg 702 PlinkstersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hunting7 years ago (edited)

Mossberg 702 Plinkster.jpg

Hello again steemit family! Today I wanted to take a moment to share with you my first impressions of my very first rifle the Mossberg 702 Plinkster. My husband @rakkasan84 gave this to me on Thursday as a surprise. I have never owned a gun but have shot guns before under my husbands supervision. It can be a bit intimidating because of his knowledge and experience but he is a good teacher and I think he knew that this would be the perfect rifle for me to start with.

disassembly.jpg

The rifle needed a good cleaning before I could really form my opinion on how well it performed. Prior to cleaning I took it out for a test run to get a feel for it. The rifle is incredibly easy to use and the scope is spot on. Thankfully it is even easier to disassemble. All you need is a screw driver and a hammer to take it apart and should only take a couple of minutes. I cleaned it out really well with mineral oil, cotton swabs, a toothbrush, and a cotton rag. The only tricky part to putting it back together was making sure the buffer guard stays in place while dropping the pins back in. I was able to do it all by myself while my husband cleaned his guns too.

IMG_20170917_125828.jpg

After it was all cleaned up and put back together, I was able to take it back out while the rain had subsided. As you can see I was able to hit the center of the target more often than not. The rifle still had a few jams but now I believe that it was more to do with the Winchester ammunition I had picked up for it. Overall the rifle only set me back the cost of a magazine and the box of ammo and I would at this time recommend it for anyone looking to get their hands on a inexpensive rifle for newbies like me. It weighs about 4 pounds which makes it a great lightweight accessory. It comes in different colors for women, but save yourself the extra money and just get the black version. A brand new one at a sporting goods store will cost around $130.00 USD for the standard model.

If you liked today's blog, please hit the up vote button. Let me know in the comments what your first experience was and any thoughts you may have on the Mossberg Plinkster. Please hit the follow button for more upcoming blogs and welcome to all of my new steemit family members since my last blog. Until next time take care!

Sort:  

I'm glad you like it! Great job shooting too!

A respectful review...

and a respectful pattern!

I need a small rifle so I'll check it out :)

Congratulations @jamiekensell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jamiekensell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice shootin' Tex :D

Thank you kindly there Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77