WHO Says You CAN'T...!?!?!?

in #humor5 years ago (edited)
Being an off-and-on again gardener over the past fifteen years or so, I still have to check on recommendations and rules established by the so-called experts in the field of Horticulture, from time to time; especially if I'm about to grow something new, or haven't grown a particular vegie for a long time.

With the Internet these days, researching such pressing problems has become easier than ever...BUT...easier only in the sense that there is a horde of information to find, at your fingertips. It isn't any easier to find the correct information though :>(

Take my luscious 'Green-Beans' for example (Well...don't TAKE them...it's just a figure of speech...) When I researched 'String-Beans' early in this growing season, I sadly was informed that my soil was not at the right PH level for a successful crop.

Not only was my patch of earth incompatible with good Green-Bean production, "they needed plenty of 'direct' sunlight", which I didn't have because of my neighbors HUGE Sycamore tree hovering over most of my yard...!!!

Ed was going to have it cut down years ago, but changed his mind when the tree-guy gave him an estimate of about $5,000. to remove it. Poor Ed...I remember having to splash cold water on his face to revive him after fainting upon hearing such wallet depleting news...

You see, that big old Sycamore had sprung up in Ed's backyard where there wasn't easy access to it. The tree-guy couldn't get equipment close to the giant, it's branches were entangled within a mess of electrical, phone and Cable TV wires.

These removal problems in the backyard, were compounded by ANOTHER huge, old Sycamore tree in Ed's FRONT yard...it stood as tall, wide and proud as his happy friend in the back. This meant that the Tree-Man needed to rent an extra large Crane, with an experienced operator in order to pass over the front tree, then up above the three story house, in order to lift the large cut pieces.

Sooooooo….this explains my LACK of sun...as if you guys really needed to know. Are you still with me??? I wouldn't blame you if after reading this far, you need to take a bathroom break or something...(Those of you who are still reading, that is) :>)

Go ahead peeps...go get something to drink or a snack or something...I'll wait till you get back...

La dee dee la dee...Hum, hum, hum...

IZ YA back with me yet folk???

Here's another picture that I took of my still blossoming and sprouting Green-Bean plants, while we wait for everybody else to get back here from their smoke-break, or whatever...

Look at how healthy and abundant they look, even this late in the season... It's almost October and it's getting sort of cool here in the Northeast U.S. of A.

The daylight hours are shortening too, giving these poor little darlings even LESS sunlight to bath in...but, they're still looking happy and content, aren't they? Look at all those NEW blossoms forming...amazing...!!!

Actually, I think these five magic bean stalks are even MORE happy than they were when it was warmer and a bit sunnier...?

Another "problem" I was told on 'YouTube' by those Vegie Garden People, was that beans were "heavy feeders" and be careful what I planted them next to and how close; otherwise they would suck up all the nutrients from the soil, and starve out the babies next to them...

Well...I planted the beans in five different spots in the yard, right next to other stuff and nothing seems to be complaining...??? Everything has been doing great and getting along with each other. I haven't had a single tomato, berry or carrot ask me to get those selfish beans away from them.

Anyway... I'd better end this little garden tale about String-Beans before I drive you all crazy. It wasn't meant to be just about the beans … I also wanted to remind people that often, when we're told by the NAYSAYERS...

"You CAN'T do that"

Then...maybe we should TRY it for ourselves and see what happens? Especially if it's something we truly want to do...???

That's it my friends...I'm outta here...

Ciao


Another Mix of Madness from the Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit, Sept. 25, 2019


Images: My Own
Sort:  

Yes sometimes you just have to try things for oneself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @j85063 thanks for stopping by and commenting :>) Hope all is well with you.

Hi mate, All going well thanks I have been busy cleaning my bathroom ceiling to get it ready for a new coat of paint. Also I hope you are well my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Heavy feeders. It sounds so wrong!! Lol

We have a lot of heavy feeders here in the US these days, but they ain't in the garden...they're at MacDonald's shoving burgers and fries in their yappers :>)

We are starting to get them here. It's like the wild pigs spreading uncontrollably!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 224 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Heavy feeders, lol The legume family actually restore the soil, they have a symbiotic relationship with bacteria in their roots and use atmospheric nitrogen, which gets converted and used by the plants, they don't take much from the soil. Some reading if you want to know more https://www.gardenmyths.com/legumes-add-nitrogen-soil/

Thanks for reading and responding with an informative comment @nikv , along with the link to perhaps some interesting reading.
Ciao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87