Got hugelkultur on my mind...

in #hugelkultur5 years ago

Making the hour long drive to my sister in law's rehearsal dinner before her wedding tomorrow, and we drove by a giant brush pile in a drainage ditch.

I couldn't help but think "lookit that giant hugel bed!"

IMG_20181020_151158945.jpg

I need a lot more material for mine... Can't wait for folks to start bagging leaves and trimming trees this fall! Probably need about triple the material I already have. There's a lot of growing that needs done, both up and out.

We start on swales, berms, and drains soon, which will provide a lot of soil for the project as well. Then we'll need wood chips and wood chips and wood chips a million! I literally think I could use a pile as big as three cars here. Need to find some arborists...

So much to do, and I'm anxious to get started. Someone turn off the sprinkler for a bit though, it's wet outside!


Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

I love consuming projects like this... its fun thinking about them!! I was pleased to get those wicking beds done though!! And they are working well..x good luck finding all those leaves!!!

Making a post about them soon? I can't wait to see! :)

Well, I was getting courageous about doing a Dtube about it, and every time I try to upload or edit someone or something gets in the way, and there's another obligation on Steemit to fulfil! But it's coming - went to do it this morning and the camcorder battery is flat! It's coming, I promise!

Bit obsessed maybe @nateonsteemit? All I see is a huge pool of water that may be too deep for my goats to cross to get to those yummy trees they can snack on.....

One day soon I'll be seeing things through goat tinted glasses too. I think we're gonna do it.

Do goats eat branches? Even without leaves?

They love bark. They will strip the branch but not eat the actual branch. A lot of bark is an excellent dewormer. You'll probaly see that hugelkultur with a special bridge over it so your goats can get to the trees ;)

Can they not swim?

That's okay, the branches will still work for a hugel bed even after the bark is gone :)

Me? Obsessed? Never....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77