Fixing My Kenmore 80 Series Washing Machine

in #howto8 years ago (edited)

Washing Machine Panic Attack

Yesterday we had a full load of wet laundry in the washing machine but the machine would not start. A mild form of home owner panic set in as I realized I might have to finally replace our old, built like a tank washing machine. I immediately started googling our Kenmore 80 series with the symptoms and came across a simple video where a guy videos himself taking out the part in question, the lid switch. I followed the video and was able to remove the switch and repair it myself. If you have ever repaired something that you thought you were going to replace or pay to have fixed, you will recognize the feeling of self worth.

Steemit will allow me to thank hdampf007 in a meaningful way

As I was falling asleep last night, I could not help thinking about what had happened and how much I wanted to thank the author of that video. He seems like a normal guy who just happened to make one popular video about a washing machine repair and it got him 175k views and over 600 likes. His video is not monetized so he has not made anything. As Steemit evolves over time, it will allow me to thank hdampf007 in a meaningful way with a like that is backed up by the power of my account and he will be compensated for his efforts. As it stands, Youtube is collecting all of the benefits of his work.

Steemit needs to find a way to reward evergreen content

I know that Steemit is not currently setup to reward people like hdampf007 who have created content that is useful for years but it will eventually. Steemit needs to find a way to reward evergreen content to encourage people to create stuff like this. As someone who used this video to save hundreds, I want to up vote his efforts in a meaningful way!

Steemit recently just implemented a 30 day rewards period and that is a great start. But what about the blog posts that are useful for years like this washing machine video? The most popular articles on my drone website were written years ago and still attract traffic. If someone reads an article I wrote 2 years ago and finds it useful on Steem and they upvote me, I should still benefit from this -- Right?

Sort:  

33486681_10216054166778100_1086941319357530112_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88