Even experienced horse people do dumb things

in #horses6 years ago (edited)

Tara and I had a rough evening...like many long-term horse owners my guard was down while leading her to go out...she was far too behind me instead of beside me....and suddenly WHAM!! I got flung far into a wall and landed in a heap seeing stars thinking "wha????". All I remember is a big bang...something spooked her and the others in the run-in beside us (she never spooks...seriously - for a fiery horse she's also very level headed and rarely reacts to anything) and she reared then bolted.

She gave herself what's hopefully a superficial skull fracture and split her forehead wide (ceiling where we were is at least 10' high...maybe even higher...but she's also 17.1hh and could easily smash tbe beams...it's possible she hit the door frame. No real obvious signs but she obviously slammed into something full force
20180607_003540.jpg

I'm bruised and will definitely feel like I got hit by a freight train. She's patched up and grounded to her stall until morning (No sign of brain damage but we'll know much more in the morning if she has more than just a bad headache
IMG_20180607_001247_723.jpg

Never ever let your guard down...I was alone in tbe evening and this could have ended very badly for me as well as my poor old mare. 20180607_003513.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @ponyvet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ponyvet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48