Little Evil (film) - nice try, but nope

in #horror5 years ago

Perhaps I am just too choosy at the moment but when I saw the chance to see a black-comedy starring Adam Scott (like) and Evangeline Lilly (like a lot, ever since LOST,) i jumped at the opportunity.

For fans of horror that are over the age of 30 or so it will quickly become evident what this film is trying to portray: Scary babies. This was mastered back in the 70's and 80's with Rosemary's Baby, Children of the Corn, and especially (for me) The Omen.

Little.jpg
source

Unlike the films that I compared it to, this film is also trying to be funny at the same time and in places it succeeds at that. However, overall, the film just doesn't do a good job of making this a well rounded film. Also, there are entirely too many plot holes.

I love horror films and I really have an appreciation for when they try to incorporate the corruption of the innocence of youth also. However, this film is not BAD, don't get me wrong, but it simply fails and being scary and ultimately that is the main objective of it. I still enjoyed the movie, but mostly because of the fact that I really like looking at Evangeline Lilly and the comedic elements kept the flow of the film going.

On the other side I cant really rate this movie as a horror film because the child actor (no offense kid) just isn't really very scary. If you are a fan of horror then I guess this movie is kinda worth watching, but for the most part, there are much better things to see than this.

5 / 10

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

I agree with your review. This disappointed me because it was written and directed by the same writer/director of Tucker and Dale vs Evil - which is my favorite horror comedy of all time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22