My Greenhouse - An Early Fall Update

SAM_2481.JPG

It's time for an update on my greenhouse. It is doing pretty well, though I should probably fertilize the poor things. Their produce keeps getting smaller and smaller and is ripening more slowly. That could also be because we are reaching the end of our growing season. I really don't know. This is the longest lasting garden I have ever had. Usually by now the weeds and pests have overwhelmed me and I have given up. I'm really encouraged by the steadfastness of this garden and I promise to fertilize soon. I swear!

SAM_2475.JPG
My squash are still going. I'm really surprised. They're big feeders though so I really need to give them some more nutrients.

SAM_2476.JPG
I still have yet to get an eggplant. Maybe they don't like being in containers?

SAM_2478.JPG
A tabasco pepper turning color. It's about time, though I still don't know what to do with them.

SAM_2479.JPG
Jalapenos out the wazoo! It's a good thing my mother-in-law lives off them. She's Korean. She can handle it.

SAM_2483.JPG
My tomatoes grew so far to the south they grew out of the greenhouse! I'm afraid if I try to push them back inside, the stems will break and they will die.

SAM_2482.JPG
My escapee tomatoes

SAM_2480.JPG

I hope this greenhouse can extend my growing season so I can continue to provide fresh produce for our family. It seems to be at a standstill at the moment, but I'm sure with some additional fertilizer (probably blood meal because that's what I have) I can get many more meals from my garden.

Thanks for looking! Stay tuned!

All photos taken by me using a Samsung WB1100F camera and edited paint.net.

Sort:  

I love your green house! Nice peppers, I love peppers. And the rebellious tomato, so awesome. Your place looks wild and beautiful. Thanks for the peek into your lovely homestead @hethur240.

Thank you so much, @lifemovedbysteem! I seem to grow peppers for the simple enjoyment of growing them. We have used the green bell peppers, but basically have no use for the hotter ones. For once, I am glad of my mother-in-law, if only for her amazing ability to eat raw jalapenos at every meal.

Hahaha, my family is the opposite. My husband and I are the only one eating hot peppers :) I really enjoy pepper plants too. They are special. Frist time growing them this year, and I am smitten.

Peppers are pretty plants. Their flowers, foliage, fruit. Everything. I am especially fond of my tabasco plants because their peppers are so little and cute and colorful!

Her place is amazing!! I like to escape there and wander her yard because she plants all this pretty things just for me to look at!!!

So awesome! I have a feeling that I would just LOVE to sit with you too over a cup of tea in this beautiful garden. Maybe one day if the fates align. You ladies are great.

@hethur240 it's like they know us she says while sipping her coffee!!!!

Dehydrate and grind that Tabasco!!!!!!!!!! We are still using crushed red pepper from 3 years ago!

Good idea!!!

Yep, we use the dehydrated ones in chili and other stuff that needs a spicy kick!

Your eggplants may need bees to pollinate them, I don't know if bees go in your greenhouse, but they don't go into mine. I had to pollinate the watermelons by hand because nothing was happening.
I do like your greenhouse, it's really a clever way to use that frame.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

We'll take some of those jalapenos off your hands ;) Jason and I LOVE them, and we canned a bunch from our garden the past couple years. Probably eat at least a pint every 2 or 3 weeks. Also, the greenhouse looks awesome! Makes me want to get mine own going!

You can dry and grind those peppers or you can make a nice hot sauce...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16