Fall is the Best Time to Plant Perennials

Fall is on its way and it is time to get planting! What you might ask? Planting in the fall? Yup! Fall is a fantastic time to plant your perennial plants.

This week’s blog post – Why You Should Plant Perennials in the Fall – is all about why fall is the ideal time to plant your perennial plants.

The post dives into 3 different core reasons for why you should plant your perennials in the fall if possible. Unless you live in a very cold climate this should work!

Planting in the fall gives your plants more time for their roots to grow, and spreads out your yearly planting. Plus, if you are growing perennials from seed a fall sowing lets you work with nature by letting the fall/winter chill naturally prepare the seeds for germination in the spring.

Check out the blog post for more info on each of these benefits of fall planting and for access to a checklist to help you get ready to plant in the fall.

What I’m Planting This Fall

Every fall (and winter!) I always plant a bunch of perennial plants. As a wild homesteader one of my goals is to create a number of perennial based plant systems on my homestead to provide food for my family and I while also supporting local wildlife.

This fall (2019) is no different and I have already ordered 350 perennial plants to plant in October (300) and January (50).

The plants coming in October are all herbaceous (non-woody) plants. I’m getting them in the ground after the rains have returned but before the plants have gone dormant.

This will let these plants start to get established before they go dormant later on in November.

The plants showing up in January are all trees. Since I got them wholesale, they are coming as bareroot plants (just bundled up together with no soil on the roots). This is a cheap way to get a bunch of trees but I wish I could get them in November instead of January.

But getting them planted in winter will still help them get established quicker than if I waited for spring to plant.

I’m also going to get some fruit trees and berry bushes but I’m frustrated at how many nurseries won’t ship them until spring. Because of this I’m likely going to get mine from some local nurseries that do sale them in the fall. But the selection won’t be as good.

So a lot of new trees, shrubs and herbaceous plants coming soon! I’m very excited to be adding 375ish new perennial plants to my wild homestead over the upcoming fall/winter!

What About You?

What are you planting this fall/winter? Does your ground freeze too early to plant in the fall? Please leave a comment—I would love to hear from you!

Before you go make sure to check out the blog post which has more information about why planting perennials in the fall is your best choice.

Thank you!


Wild-Homesteading-New-outlines-50-x-250.png

Follow me for more posts all about wild homesteading, working with nature, and growing your own food: @wildhomesteading

And check out my blog - www.wildhomesteading.com for weekly in-depth posts on how to work with nature, grow your own food, and build a wild homestead. When you work with nature, nature works with you.

Sort:  

I've often wondered at the best times to plant perennials. I always thought winter for trees. Will the January arrivals just have to go in when they arrive?

Posted using Partiko Android

As long as the trees are dormant then fall works great but winter is fine too. Most of the time it seems like trees are sold in winter (I have 50 coming in January) or in early spring. So, yup January or winter in general works fine.

I have found in my restoration work where I'm often planting thousands of trees and shrubs each year that the plants I plant in the fall tend to do better come summer than the ones I plant in January/February. But the ones planted in January/February do better than ones planted in March or April.

There is a local nursery in my area that always puts their fruit trees and berry bushes on a big sale in December. So I will be getting a bunch then.

Good luck with your perennials!

It's all so different than the Asian-Tropical-Sub-Tropical garden!! Yes, so much of gardening is understanding your OWN LOCAL timetable! The idea of buying things from nurseries is also incredibly western - here in Thailand people grow from cuttings or seed and share. Seems to work really well. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87