OLD BARN № 029steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)
Several years ago, a rusty roof played peek-a-boo with me as I drove down a particular stretch of rural highway. It was situated on a large tract of land which looked to be at least 25 acres (10 hectares) or more. The property was overgrown with scrubby brush and small trees, as if it had been used as a pasture in its heyday, but this purpose had long been abandoned. It was so overgrown that I couldn't tell much about the structure under the roof or how large it might be.

Even though the property was obviously not being used, I hesitated to go up there to inspect the rusty roof that keep beckoning to me because there was an inhabited house right across the road. One day, though, it just looked and "felt" right for a brief jaunt up the hill to the roof, which looked to be maybe 300 feet (90 meters) off the road.

When I got up there, it wasn't a conventional "barn" at all, but a rather small shed-like structure. Being that it was situated in a one-time pasture, though, it could have held a salt-lick for cattle, or some hay, or some sort of farming implements for repairing fences and such. It could have even been a pump-house for a well, for providing water to the cattle or horses that grazed in the pasture.

OldBarn029thin15.png

I was a bit disappointed that it wasn't any bigger, but when I later reported my finding to a friend and showed her the photo, she exclaimed, "It's a baby barn!" and that made me feel better! 😁

I did not think to make a photo from the road, looking up to where the "baby barn" was located. Looking at a current screenshot from Google Maps "Street View," the baby barn is no longer visible. I am not sure if it is no longer standing or if the trees (which are much taller than they were when I photographed the barn) are hiding the structure. I edited the roof of the barn into the screenshot to simulate what I saw when I first discovered it.

OldBarn029scene.png
simulated recreation of the property, screenshot from Google Maps

It's interesting, this hobby of barn hunting, with lots of little adventures!

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

!steemitworldmap 34.737836 lat -82.667501 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png

Sort:  

Where do you find these gems? I image you always are on the look out for it seems to be a passion of yours!
I love what you do to your photos, making them a piece of art!
I still haven't got that story written about the old barn picture you did up for me, so lovely! It's still in my mind to do it though!
Thanks for sharing!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-barn-029


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Its really an amazing adventure

Posted using Partiko Android

hehe super cool treasure actually!

when you look at it like that from the side of the road it does not look so super special but indeed the pic that you took and editted is really like it is a hidden gem!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thekittygirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

A baby barn lol I like that. Looking from the road you could easily miss it and that is quite a discovery. I hope you could take some shots from the inside the next time around.

I think about you every time I drive by an old barn. :)

I am loving your old barn photos. And equally loving what you do with them, very unique editing there!

hopefully the growth won't last long

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28