It's finally here! Time to prep firewood

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

A couple of years ago a woodworking friend of mine turned up at camp with a Fiskars X11 axe. I have been after one ever since. However, since we had central heating I couldn't justify the expense. Since we moved, we now rely on an antique coal range for our heating. What a perfect reason to treat myself!

After only two weeks after ordering it on Amazon.es it has arrived. This is one of the only small axes I have seen that is specifically designed for splitting. The head has widening flutes to help prize logs apart. It's heavy enough to split from the round but light enough to do kindling.

And to top it off it has a composite handle that will deal with whatever the weather, or I , can throw at it!

Once I start getting my own firewood in I might have to invest in it's big brother, the X25. But that's a bit overkill for our current uses. It will be invaluable though as the humidity here means that most fire wood is a bit, damp. Splitting means I can reveal more of the dry wood inside, and hopefully burn it more efficiently.

It also means I get kindling, which for some reason the Spanish don't seem to have a use for.

Any way, enough from me.

Mind how you go

TallTUK

Sort:  

That is a nice looking axe. Added to my Amazon wish list 😊

Oh it's lovely. Not cheap but a dream to use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87