Miss Imma.....homestead drama.

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20180714_170952.jpg

Spent a good portion of the day and most of my week working on clearing a field and hauling the clipping into the chicken run. Boy do they love that.

The chickens are valuable to us and we appreciate them. Right now I have a broody hen. I got guinea eggs from a friend to put under her to hatch but I guess they were not good or something went wrong.
I don't know. Guinea eggs take longer but not this long!

Since she's been on the nest waaay to long I took her off the nest and removed the eggs.
She went back and sat on the empty nest.

I'm really disappointed about the guinea eggs. Guinea are a must have for a rural homestead like ours.
Our property has a lot of wooded areas and a lot of ticks.
But nothing we could do about the eggs but how to get this girl off the nest!!!

I mentioned my situation to a neighbor and guess what? She had an orphan chick.

Y'all fingers crossed
Miss Imma Sitting Hen
will accept it!

Ain't she cute! What a blessing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70