Get In. We'll Go For A Wee Paddle On The River That Makes Up My Backyard

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

On the Trent-Severn waterway. It's a gorgeous day on the water and canoeing and knowing how to canoe goes hand in hand with the part of Canada that I call home. If you are Canadian, you're born with a hockey stick in one hand and a canoe paddle in the other, it seems.

Lilly pads and algae blooms abound and the river system teems with life where ever you look. All you have to do is simply look close enough.

The river is 240 mi (or 386 km) long and contains 45 locks that move boats through the entire system.

The trees are just starting to show the tell-tale signs of Autumn. The leaves are just beginning to turn colour. In another month they will put on a brilliant display of yellows, oranges and reds. 

This is a flock of Turkey Vultures drying the morning dew off of their wings in the sun. Their wings need to be dry so that they can soar on thermal winds once they get their day started.

Just around the corner there is a bridge with lots of rocks and faster moving water. We will not be doing any rapids or white water today. (My paddling skills require more work before we can do that.)

Here's some Canadian geese. They are standing on rocks that are just submersed below the waterline. This is why it is imperative that you pay attention while you're out for a paddle. Hitting sharp rocks with the bottom of a canoe is not a great thing for a very light Kevlar canoe. It weighs about 30 lbs so is easy to lift and maneuver. It's strong but it won't take heavy, repetitive rock hitting.

Turning this vessel around and heading back to shore. Thanks for the quick visit. I promise to take you out again in about a month. The leaves will be in their full colour by then and you'll be able to see what the Fall season can be like in these part of Canada.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...sometimes we might go by canoe. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan


Sort:  

@rebeccaryan
I love your canoe trip. It was so refreshing. I could almost smell the clear air here where I am. Ha
It has been raining here today. No outside homesteading. So, we watched the trading screens instead.
We are all looking forward to the next month canoe trip. It will be full of colors then I would think.
With you living next to the water. You can float on out anytime you want to.
That is so nice. Most of us I imagine are not near the water.
But, we can watch you.
Thank you

Francis

It was very fresh. @knarly327 and I went out in the morning. I had a winter coat on, my life vest and gloves. This was also why the vultures were still roosting. It wasn't yet warm enough for them to fly very well. I am committed to the Full Fall tour now. LOL!

@rebeccaryan
So happy for you. It is so nice to get out and enjoy nature all around.
While I sit in front of computers. Ha
Rain here most of the day No homesteading today.
Oh, I tried to reach out to you today. Not important. Just a -good- day is all.

Francis

thanks for sharing those beautiful photos I look forward to seeing them next month when the leaves are turning I love the fall of the year October is my favorite month

Oh great @cowboyk! October is my favourite month too! ;)

@rebeccaryan,
Wow just wow! You just shared an amazing experience + an amazing photography of nature beauties! Great work and really appreciate your effort! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

Thank you very much @theguruasia!

Beautiful shots! It looks calm , I like to go there,but am scared of frogs 🐸 and crocodiles, hahaha, when i see these photos i remember the American film of adventure.

Hi @creativewoman!
I don't really like frogs or snakes either. My husband and I live in a more rural area of our country so it does look like a lot of wilderness. Maybe one day you, @progressivechef and your daughter will come and visit us in Canada. Our doors will always be open to you. ;)

Oh my god...snakes!!! My heart will stop!
It will really be a pleasure coming up and meet amazing people like you, @progressivechef's talks so much good on you with me everyday!

That river is more than 6 times longer than my country... That's amazing my friend!
I love the shots with the front of the canoe , so beautiful! The river seems calm too! Nature is really very beautiful! I had a nice time reading this one! It felt like a voyage!

Oh good @progressivechef! I was hoping it would feel like we were all riding in the canoe together. I cannot get over how small your country is. We need to come and visit. :)

I really felt like riding slowly and peacefully on the canoe...You did it perfectly.
You should definitely come my friend, run away from that Canadian winter and come enjoy the wonderful summer here in paradise!

Beauuuuuutiful!! :) I had to really look for those turkey vultures, but I saw em! So great, looks like you had a really relaxing day. Thanks for taking us with you.

HAHAAAA to the hockey stick comment, yeah I definitely know where you're coming from!

Hi Lyndsay!
I'm so glad you could come along today! It's a bit of a story about the bird picture. I use a really old digital camera in the canoe so that if I tip or drop it in the drink, it doesn't really matter. The problem is that I can never remember how to work its very basic functions, so I point, click and hope for the best. LOL!

Hahhahahaaa!! I love it so much <3 <3 <3 drop it in the drink lol...click and hope for the best...you're crackin' me up over here :D :D :D :D

I thoroughly enjoyed the wee tour you took me on, it looks like heaven to me! I'm supposed to be going rafting soon in West Virginia and I am so much looking forward to that much needed trip! Thank you for sharing your backyard with us, I love it!

You are most welcome. ooooO rafting that ought to be fun.
I was hoping that it would feel like we were all in the canoe.

What a beautiful waterway and what beautiful creatures you are sharing it with!
I enjoyed the canoe trip and look forward to seeing the kaleidoscope of colors soon! What peace and tranquility that must be :)

Hi @tamaralovelace!
Thank you. I was hoping that it would kind of feel like we were all in the canoe together. I am grateful for the serenity and the water. Both recharge me. Great to chat.

Leonardo-DiCaprio-OMG.gif
logo.jpg

An interesting story and beautiful photos @rebeccaryan, especially liked the photo with leaves of water lilies on the water :)

Thank you @serkagan! It's late in the season for them and all their flowers are gone now. Some are white and some are pink.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22