You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planting in Cloth Beds and Hurt Hen Update

in #homesteading7 years ago

I really enjoyed reading your blog! We have a lot of clay here but have a spring fed creek with a bunch of trees here. I hadn't considered taking soil from. That's a good idea! Altho, we do have invasives along the creek I don't want to risk bringing into the garden. Maybe I could hot compost the forest soil. Hmmm. I'll have to think on it.

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm happy you liked it. What types of invasive plants do you have? Japanese Knot Weed is a massive problem on the creeks around here.

Well, we've got Virginia creeper, multi rose, briar, poison &water hemlock, Bradford pears, honey locusts, humongous poison ivy vines/thickets, and wild grape. Luckily no honeysuckle. Some of those are native. I don't care if they are technically native, they are aggressive and will/are taking over my food Forrest/creek.

Sounds like you could use a goat!

I think we probably do. I just don't know that we can take care of farm animals right now. I would like to have goats, chickens, quail, and ducks at some point. It's just they require a certain level of care taking that I don't know we can be consistent with. plus the cost of getting them and the cost to take care of them.

Chickens are pretty low maintenance. I barely fool with mine and they do great. If you ever get the chance to get any I think you'l enjoy them. One of my big dreams is to raise bison, and develop my own breed that resembles the native bison that used to live here.

That would be soooo cool! Shame how they were nearly wiped out. Looking forward to those posts when you get to that point!

Yes, we are going to have to get animals soon. At some point we'll have to just do it. We want to raise meat birds, so we shouldn't have to worry about taking care of them over the winter.

you'll be amazed at how little effort it takes to keep chickens. I have a movable cop that I use, and i still spend less than five minutes a day on them. I only have five, but I've had as many as 17 plus six ducks. hey were all free range at that point though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47