You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How many chickens do you need?

in #homesteading7 years ago

A few weeks back I was trying to estimate how many chickens that we will need on the farm; both layers and meat birds. For my family of five, we will normally cook one, maybe two chickens a week. Toss the bird in the crock pot for the first night's dinner and then it is soup for the second night. So going with that information, I am calculating that we will need about 75 meat birds to get us through one year.
As for eggs, I really like what you said and it makes perfect sense; "I think you will find that the more eggs you have the more eggs you will use." I would like us to start out with 5 or 6 birds until we get the hang of raising our birds. Then gradually increase with our time and experience.
Thank you for sharing. Truly informative!!

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48