Spinning a yarn...The kitchen sink!

in #homesteading7 years ago

What do you do when you have little bits of fiber and samples taking up space? You guessed it! Mix and blend like crazy!
Lets see if I can remember all the scrap fiber and samples I tossed into this batch.
-Moreno wool
-Alpaca
-Silk
-Angora (rabbit)
-Mystery wool
-Anything that looked liked a small amount
After some, (A LOT), of blending, I had more rolags than I thought and knew this was destined to be an awesome yarn.
IMG_0332.JPG

After the first skein it was obvious that a long, fluffy and warm scarf was the future of this yarn. 500 yards of yarn spun later and I am all but certain of it.
IMG_0485.JPG

So soft! So bouncy! So warm! I am already getting my skeins into balls for what will be a wonderful knitting experience!

IMG_0526.JPG
Please let me know how I am doing.
I appreciate comments and up-votes.
Thank you.

Sort:  

That's really cool! Looks so soft... I didn't know it was possible to combine all those fibers together really! Efficient way to use them up!

I figured if it hit the skids I would only be out the samples and left over fibers. I am very glad it worked out. Thanks!

Any plans to use the yarn? :)
It would make a very soft hat or something I'd think! Admittedly I don't have much experience with physical knitting/crocheting/sewing myself haha

I am thinking long, wide scarf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85