Flow Hive Update! - THE BEES are in the TOP BOX!

It's finally happened! We are seeing bees at work in the top box of the flow hive. Over a month ago we added the top box and the box below it was only about half full. We are assuming that the second box is not full and the workers are looking for additional space for honey storage.

Now that workers are moving in the actual flow hive, we will monitor their progress and keep reporting back each week. As I have said before, the Flow Hive was a pretty controversial product when it was announced both because of the method of extracting honey and price. Bee keepers were divided over its usefulness and if it would actually work as described. Some even claimed that it would harm bee populations.

And so this experiment that I'm reporting back to you is to see for ourselves if this hive will sustain itself and produce a good honey product. So far, the bees seem to be very busy at building out their hive.

Enjoy the VIDEO and Stay Tuned!



JOIN US ON PATREON FOR MORE BEHIND THE SCENES HOMESTEAD CONTENT AND GIVEAWAYS!
become_a_patron_button.png
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

I will be interested in seeing how this works out. I had thought of using the flow hives when we start but I had been a bit put off by the reviews I was seeing...

Yeah, me too. I'm interested in seeing how this plays out.

If I remember correctly, the top box of the flow hive has pre-made hexagonal combs that can separate allowing the honey to drip down to a tap at the bottom. Are the bottom boxes normal beehives or do they separate also? @ironshield

No, the bottom boxes are just regular hive boxes. Only the top is the flow hive apparatus.

My neighbor got one but hasn't used it yet. I am very interested in the results of your experiment. Thanks for sharing!

I have been toying with the idea of getting a Flow Hive, but I have heard that with the cooler climate in the UK it won't work so well. I believe that is because you need warmer temperatures to make the flowing work well.

I would be interested in any thoughts on that.

I'm not sure at all about the UK. I would find someone who has hives in your area and ask them all they know about it.

I still need to do more local research on this.

They say ‘ Without bees there is no life’.

As a kid I was always fascinated by the bee hives they would keep in the childrens mesuems where you oculd see the bees working. I'll definitly keep my eyes peeld for updates as this is always cool to watch!

I as well have read both positive and negatives on the flowhive...so very interested in seeing how it all turns out!

Thanks for sharing the information. Very interested in results!

Very excited to hear you will be able to see for yourself and share your experiences with us here. I've been wondering about FlowHives too and was hoping someone would just try and gimme their 2 cents. Good stuff. Hope the Bees stay happy and healthy. On a related note, if you are growing edible or medicinal mushrooms you can leave woodchip piles out for the bees to pick through, apparently helps with their individual and collective immunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28