RIP My Sweet Little Bandit

in #homesteading5 years ago

I knew when we got ducks that I needed to prepare myself for a pet that might have a short lifespan. Sadly, sweet Bandit passed away on April 20th just a few weeks short of her first birthday. I really don't know what happened. She passed away in her sleep.

My Sweet Bandit

57366676_10102458505866906_3035297879649419264_n.jpg

Poor Bandit never seemed to bounce back to normal after being attacked by the neighbor's horrible dog back during early winter. I think the event traumatized her so that she was always stressed out. Bandit became the watcher for the other ducks and would stand away from the group watching for danger. After the dog attack she was very paranoid and I'd hear her making a specific quack I think meant "danger" frequently even though the group was safe. She had the other ducks constantly moving out of fear.

I think she was so traumatized by the dog attack she didn't take care of herself. She let the others focus on eating while she guarded them. I think the stress she felt slowly deteriorated her health. There wasn't anything I could do for her. She grew stressed out by me being around and fearful of everything. Stress can kill birds so I kept my distance a lot not wanting to cause her distress.

I noticed she was laying down a lot several days before she died. I kept her and the other ducks locked in their pen to force her to rest. I let them out a few days later to free range and she seemed fine. Then, the next day it rained and I found her laying down by herself behind the shed which was weird. I put her in her pen with the others. I found her the next morning curled up in her nest in a sleeping position and instantly knew she was gone because she didn't move. The only consolation is she died feeling safe in her own bed.

Baby Bandit

57543632_10102458505891856_4656485306168508416_n.jpg

My husband and I were both heartbroken. She was our favorite duck. My husband even cried at losing her which surprised me because he doesn't cry often. Her sister Smokey and our other two ducks Sammy and Reeses were out of sorts for a while after losing her. They saw my husband carry Bandit's body off to bury her and they kept trying to escape up the mountain to go where he took her.

I had to lock them up for a few days out of fear they'd get lost in the woods looking for Bandit. They needed time to readjust. Locking them up helped them calm down and figure out their group without their friend.

57358049_10102458505916806_8332199986888441856_n.jpg

Now that a little time has passed I can see how bad the dog attack must have effected Bandit. Smokey, Sammy, and Reeses are extremely calm now. Before Bandit was so paranoid she was alerting them to danger all the time. She had them running away from me and constantly on the move. Now that she's gone, the other ducks are much calmer. They come and chill with me again and don't run from me. I rarely hear panicked quacks which were frequent after Bandit was attacked. It's sad she was so traumatized. Because of her fear she was constantly strung out and made the other ducks fearful all the time.

58430274_10102458505991656_6203189293876248576_n.jpg

My husband and I had a long talk after she died and we agreed that replacing Bandit was in the other ducks best interests. Bandit was the guard of the group and I worry about the safety of the other ducks without that dominant figure. This week we'll be receiving our first male duck and two more females. I had to order 3 ducks because of the companies shipping rules. Hopefully the male will protect his girls and maybe in the future baby ducks to sell will be a possibility.

I'm still very sad at losing Bandit. It's strange not hearing her unique quack around the yard anymore. It's never easy to lose a pet. She was a beautiful little duck and it's a shame she's gone so early in her life.

Sort:  

I am sorry for your loss, I have had many different pets over the years and it always hurts to lose a family member like that ✌ thankfully though it was peacefully in sleep..and I hope those others will stay safe from the dogs!

Thank you. The one reason I prefer cats and dogs is ever one I've had has lived 10 years or longer. Ducks are so much more fragile. I did talk to the neighbor's wife and she's locking the dogs up. Apparently when they left home they'd let the dogs run lose to guard the property...a terrible idea with vicious dogs. She's locking them up now and I haven't seen them in weeks which is nice.

Awww, poor Bandit! That attack never should have happened.

With a drake, I hope you are planning on candling the eggs... Nothing like a fertile egg to ruin breakfast! Do you know what types / colors you'll be getting?

I got three more Black Swedish Ducks which is what Bandit was. I really love black and white animals so I think that'll be the type of duck I want to focus on breeding. I know very little about the process though so I'm doing my research now. At times I have so many eggs I don't know what to do with them all. It'd be nice to have hatching eggs to sell of instead of having so many eating eggs on hand. I have more people asking for hatching eggs than eating eggs so it'll be a good side business once I figure things out.

Oh no! I remember watching her grow up! Seemed like yesterday honestly. I totally remember the dog attack from hell. So very sad.

I know. Time flies so fast. It's a shame there was a sad ending.

Agh shame man - always sad when a pet dies.

So sorry for your loss - it is heartbreaking if a pet dies. At least that is the only time they break our hearts, the other times are just joy and good memories.

Very true. At least I had a great time with here while she was here. And I spoiled her she had a good life.

That is really sad, i am really sorry, its horrible losing a loved pet :)

Thank you. It is really really sad. I hate this happened.

Very sad, it hurts like mad... I dread it

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 331 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25