You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Microgreens Adventure - Day 1

in #homesteading7 years ago

I am looking forward to your follow up post. Even though we can grow year around here, micro greens a so nutritious that it is fun to have them as well - expensive to buy.
Here, a lot of people are doing this, so, it is not a great business idea, but a good money saver....
If you are into podcasts, here is a link to my friend's podcast. He has a bunch with different people on the subject.
If you are thinking business - I highly recommend to listen to them :)
http://www.permaculturevoices.com/10-base-principles-for-successfully-growing-high-quality-microgreens-fsfs89/

Sort:  

Thanks for the link Marianne, I'll definitely give that a listen. I think the trend is yet to come to the UK so maybe I'll a little ahead of the curve here? hope so! I still think it's a good business idea with you too; these farms can only supply so much of a zipcode so more growers, more opportunities. :D

If you are seriously thinking of starting this as a business, there are several episodes where Diego talks to people about their set up, what they learned and all of that. He also did a whole series with Curtis Stone from Canada who made himself a name by teaching people to farm front yards and make a good living.
Keep us posted of your progress :)

I love Curtis Stone - I watch all his stuff. He got me into market gardening initially and sparked my ideas for selling veggies at my farm gate. :D

Cool. I have met him several times when he was in San Diego. Then you really will enjoy the podcast. Diego and Curtis did a series where they went over his workdays week by week. So, you get a really good insight in all the steps and planning.
Curtis has quite a micro greens operation going as well. You will do well!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65876.23
ETH 2700.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86