You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading Philosophy: Sharing Stewardship Stories and Some Fun!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Yes, we are stewards of our blessings. We are not property owners, we don't really "own" anything. Once you don't pay the tax man, the government can take away what you have.

Leaving the place better for the next person is definitely what we do. I cannot imagine why anyone would trash their place?

How are you being stewards?
When we bought our place, there were trash everywhere. With little ones,
we are slowly cleaning the property. Trimming trees, cleaning the trash, planting trees, putting a garden in, raising chickens, stopping the erosion on some bad places.

How are you having fun on the homestead?
It's family fun day when we all go outside to work on the garden, making trails or raking leaves. Or we just let the children play with dirt, hang on vines and pick up pretty stones. We all walk on the trail, the children enjoy it when we go with flashlights or lamp.

Sort:  

Great comment @lovenfreedom! I don't understand why people trash their place either, but they do. My personal experience is that it happens more often (and this is a worldwide observation) in conjunction with poverty. I've got some thoughts around that to explore in a post. If/when I write it, I'll link back here.

My kids are now 13 - 19. They used to enjoy working on the garden, making trails or raking leaves. They still do all those things although I'm not sure I'd use the word "enjoy" in conjunction with it anymore. :) LOL!

Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48