Mealworm Farm Update. Birds First Taste Of The Fresh Stuff.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

20170824_100048.jpg

Meal worm farm is going healthy and strong, lots of fat worms. Time to see how my quail like the fresh over freeze dried.

20170824_100414.jpg

20170824_100531.jpg

20170824_100516.jpg

Once this first two tried it was a feeding frenzy! They like the fresh the best just as I thought.

I tried to feed them some of the ones that were turning into beetles, so I have less of them to deal with but a few to lay eggs.
They have been very maintenance free, I forgot about them for a few days and when I checked on them they had multiplied and were doing fine without my watchful eye.

Thanks for reading my blog, hope everyone's Wednesday is going wonderful.
Cheers until next time.

Sort:  

Good job, looks like it was worth the effort. Thanks for including the photos too.


Fellow Steemians, please support @lifemovedbysteem with your REAL comments and an upvote. I will randomly select one of your comments for a 100% Upvote

supportauthor.gif

gif made by @papa-pepper

Thank you for your support of my hard work and creativity, it means a lot to me @preppers! Real connection with the readers who stop by my blog is why I'm doing this. Big Love.

My quail used to go crazy for the little wriggly mealworms. They would almost bounce up in the air to grab them from my hand 😊

They do bounce a lot! I love doing little things for my critters that make them so happy, their happiness is infectious! Thank you for checking on the update @pennsif!

I never thought about farming my own. What do mealworms turn into? What about winter?
My chickens love our freeze-dried ones we buy, but if they would be happier (and it would be cheaper) with fresh, it might be something to consider!

I think its great farming mealworms, very easy! I have a post on how I made their house, Its towards the beginning of august. They turn into beetles, I try to feed them the worms that are turning into beetles to keep my beetles down. So far it has worked. I keep them in the garage because they like cool dark places. Not sure about winter, if it got cold here I think they would be fine in the garage. And they like the fresh ones way better than the freeze dried, they go crazy!
Thanks for looking and for responding with good questions as always @hethur240, as always your a pleasure to interact with on stemmit.

This is on my list of projects to get done before we get quail! Can't find an organic feed locally that has enough protein

I think that is a really common problem, that is why I started and its pricey. The worm farm is so cheap and easy I encourage you to make one. If you would like to see how I did mine I have a post on it. Thank you for reading @minighomestead!

I use to feed my turtle meal worms! Yummm!

I LOVE turtles! It seems that lots of different wonderful animals like meal worms, good thing to grow. Thanks for checking out my blog @karensuestudios!

I'm sure they loved it. They are so cute! Fun!

They are cute! Those three in the picture are so tame. They hop in my lap and chirp for pets. Thanks for looking @lightrhythm!

Great post :)

Thank you @karja! Hope your having a nice day!

Yes, thank you, and I like you worming for your turtle :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22