Upcycle and Reuse Ideas for Plastic Shopping Bags

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender.jpg
My picture. Not my bags!

Today, someone who shall remain nameless for this post, went against their normal routine and did a quick shopping stop at the local Safeway. Normally the grocery shopping is done at a different store or at the Co-Op the next town over. Re-usable shopping bags are also normally on hand. Today a quick distracted stop resulted in this... Over 2 dozen plastic bags for 32 items! Toddlers were distracting the otherwise eco-conscious shopper and every bag was doubled up by the checker. After doubling the bags, only a few items were placed into each set - if you are going to double up the bags then at least fill them!

I will save the rant and get to the content as I am sure that I would be preaching to the choir on here. I wanted to figure out what someone could do with all of these bags. Here is a list of some of my favorite options I found while searching the internet:

How to reuse these bag

  • #2 or #4 bags can be recycled - recycle them where you recycle your other plastics
  • Re-use them as garbage bin liners
  • Cover your work surface while doing messy crafts
  • Protect plants from frost
  • Make yarn - what a cool idea

And my personal favorite

  • Weave a basket or beach bag!
    Besides recycling them, I found this to be the best use. Not only would it be a fun project but the lifespan of this homemade bag would allow for years of use. If it was made out of all the same #2 or #4 bags then it would also be recyclable when no longer usable.

Here is a link to a list of 18 ways to reuse plastic shopping bag if you would like to see more options.

What can you add to this list?

Learn more about me by reading my Introduction Post

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

Re-use them as garbage bin liners

Thank you for the re-steem! I went and checked your page out. Awesome concept! Thank you for doing it! Upvoted and shared :)

Thank you !!

Great post! Upcycling is totally my jam. I am fortunate to live in a city that has outlawed those plastic bags and will charge you for a paper bag. You wouldn't believe the whiners in the beginning, but it has now settled into an amazing concept.
I actually to this day have a bag that I crocheted out of old plastic bags. I am however like your family so had to solicit enough bags from friends and family to complete the project.
Love to see people putting this type of info out on steemit...keep up the good work.

I like recycling info too !

I hope more cities follow suit. Is sad that it has to come to that but when a privledge is abused it winds up having to be regulated. If more people realized that they wouldn't have to worry about "big brother" infringing on their "rights". The first time I came across stores not having bags was down in New Zealand. Was about 12 years ago. I didn't get it then as much as I do now. They would put cardboard boxes out front for those that didn't have a bag but if all the boxes had been used you were SOL. Thank you for sharing :)

Posts like yours bring light to alternatives. I have faith that people want to do better, they just need the inspiration to do so.
Our regulations here are mandated by "big brother', but fortunately live in a city that has a council that cares about sustainability. Guess its does truly come down to upvoting those that carry your same values. Love that our steemit community represents that.

Great analogy! And is very true. I am also fortunate to have a good local government that cares about our home - I am now fortunate to be an elected member of one of these governments. I did a post about it a few days ago - I was sworn in on Thursday :)

Fantastic! I will look for that post. Love hearing about good people having a hand in our realities. Lord knows we are living in a time when that is not always the case.

Here it is to save you the trouble :)
https://steemit.com/politics/@jonpetrich/giving-back-to-a-community-that-gave-me-their-vote-201815t152659941z

I intend to do many posts in the future about what local individuals, businesses and municipalities are doing to promote conservation and sustainability.

Thanks for the link. What a great explanation of someone accepting the calling of where they are supposed to be. Im certain your community will be much rewarded for your contribution. Look forward to hearing the results of you taking this brave plunge.

some relevant ideas that come to mind right now

  • packing material
  • a hair cover or beard cover in the rain
  • a pliable bowl for when you're re-scenting potpourri
  • a way to scare your cats when they're underfoot
  • using them as a pattern outline for old tshirts or fabric that are being turned into REUSABLE BAGS
  • a fashionable way to hide a rip in the seat of your pants
  • goat condoms?

okay maybe definitely not the last one.

i've also seen people iron them flat, in multiple layers, to make stronger "reusable" bags, but i don't like the idea of heating up plastic and breathing that in.

hahahhahahiahfgauhgfadhg goat condoms omg @wisewoof

well, they're too small for horses! 😁 LOL

😂😂😂 What a thorough list! And my beard does get wet out on the boat.

always happy to lend a wise idea or two 😂😂😂

My cats are going to hate you for this, lol.
I cant stop cracking up over the image of putting a plastic bag over your head in the rain.....don't they warn you about doing such things.

but grocery bags are perfect head covers - the handles tuck right around your ears! LOL

maybe the bag trick doesnt work on all cats? mine are TERRIFIED & it was learned by accident. i turned one inside out & shook it, and the two stinkers scattered. it ended up being more effective than a water squirt, if they needed reprimanding.

I think both are a great ideas! All of your ideas were great! I dont know much about goats so will just take your word for that one :)

My current kitties are both uneasy with those types of sudden noises. Although my sweet old man kitty that just passed did try and eat any plastic he could get his paws on.(plastic eating not related to passing) The ribbon attached to helium balloons was his fave. It was a constant challenge to keep him plastic free.

i had a little buddy who was exactly the same way - he'd even try to eat the plastic bags after i'd shake them and set them down. memory of a goldfish sometimes, i tell you what!

Use the plastic bag by tucking one bottom corner insideout into the one opposite and using it to line your knit cap (toque) so you don't get your head wet in the rain.
Use the plastic bag to make an emergency dog rain coat? Hmmm...

... IDK

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!! this is awesome!

Sweet, we were just pondering what to do with all the frikin bags we have, and then this post came up! How syncronistic. I should probably use them when I am arting instead of covering the table with paint!

Cool! There is Steemit and this community at work! I love it! And yes, I was thinking the same thing for when the daughters are painting.

Aren't the sychronicities of life the best! Only thing that keeps me pluggin along.

yes it is the best! I love them <3

I've seen some cool reusable bags made from the grocery bags. They are cut into strips and strips are crocheted into a tough bag for the grocery store or to take to thebeach or the pool. I've also seen baskets crocheted out of them.

My favorite thing to do with them is make them into a waterproof type of 'fabric' for lining homemade reusable sandwich and snack bags.

OOh! That's a good use for them!

I'm a professional pet sitter. One of the services I offer is dog walking. Bet you can guess what I use bags for... 😆

To carry water for when they get thirsty? ;) Haha

Close... ;~P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16