Something HOT!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Habanero Orange hits this 10/10 definition in the chili range - with a fruity apricot smell and taste going along - I am sure about the smell, but for the taste - to me it is only HOT!

This weekend the whole house will be fused with the chili smell, while I make chili-oil for wintertime - using oliveoil and sesameoil for preserving the taste. I also dry a lot of the chili harvest...

How do you use and preserve the HOT stuff?

Off into my kitchen with cheers from the seven mountains in Germany

Sort:  

Ashely's wife makes habanero hot sauce for her Mexican food truck. It's killer hot. How can you make it in the house? I tried it once and I couldn't go in the kitchen for 3 hours without my eyes and nose burning! More power to you.

Can very well imagine - ours' is killer hot as well :-) I have all windows open and try to time it so that noone is spending time in the kitchen afterwards (evening/nighttime). - But if I make big portions I have to do it outside - no other change! I would be knocked out straight on the floor while just chopping them up lol Hubby and friends give me a hand when I process bigger amounds of chili or garlic ;-)

You are very eclectic in your tastes. Most of the Germans around here don't like hot and spicy, and the English think black pepper is too hot! lol. I was raised on Mexican food and, when we were little, my cousins and I would have contests to see who could eat the most pickled Jalapeno peppers. I always won.

cazuela.jpg

This is a cazuela (which means casserole, I think) from Oaxaca. It's quite spicy and has things like squash blossoms, epazote and other local herbs as well as peppers and string cheese. Quite yummy!

If you ever get a chance to go to Oaxaca, it's worth it just for the food. All of it is fresh and inexpensive and the locals take great pride in production of their food. When NAFTA went through Oaxaca had the choice of going industrial or tourist. They chose tourism, so thought there are a lot of tourists, there is very little pollution and it has become more of a draw for artisans of every description. I've been there 8 times. It's my favorite place in the whole world. A bit of unrest, however. The minimum wage is six dollars a day. Not enough to live on even down there. And there are places that they don't recommend tourists visit. I go there, but I know the risks. Los Angeles has places like that, and I bet Germany is getting that way too. That's just the way the world is nowadays.

Heading out today so I won't be online for awhile. Steem on!

Have a save and fun-filled trip!! Looking forward to your "being back online" post :-)

Do you dry your peppers before you infuse the oil with them?

If I just infuse cold oil with the peppers I use dried ones. For the real hot stuff I heat the oil with fresh chili and let them "cook/fry" for some minutes (they should not get burned, but keep their colour) and then fill into bottles while still hot. Often I ad more spices and garlic to this

So by heating the oil the danger of botulism is eliminated? I always thought it safer for oil to use only dried herbs and peppers..

so far it worked very well for me - I think the heating to the high temp of "frying/cooking" them for some minutes will eleminate the danger - but you can always use dried ones as well, if that feels safer. My experience is, that the energie of our thoughts always plays a big part in the overall outcome ;-) thus it is good to listen to them! Cheers from the morning dawning Seven Mountains in Germany

It's not so much my thoughts, more the reading I have done on preserving and canning. And the warning was always that if infusing things with moisture, they have to be acidified to prevent botulism which can grow in the condition moisture - as in water in the vegetable - can produce. But hadn't read about the hot method - so, it made me wonder.....

could you give me some links or books providing those "readings" - just to be up to date on thinking on my side :-) Would really appreciate it!!! I've done preserving and canning for so many years and am always happy to learn more ... so acidified and preventing botulism is of interest and I have not yet really put an eye into / onto them...

yes. Gladly. I have been preserving things for a long time as well - and I rather err on the side of safety. Actually, I only eat home preserved products from people I know have high standards of cleanliness and follow the guidelines. There might be other safe ways for just about anything, but unless it is well researched.... Better safe than sorry.
here is a pdf . http://extension.oregonstate.edu/fch/sites/default/files/documents/sp_50_701_herbsandvegetablesinoil.pdf

going with you - just read the article and thankful for the reading

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jkiw to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86