Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 128 Part 1

in #homesteading5 years ago


This is a video from Day 128 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-two days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show where I used the weed-eater to mow down the area around the shack, the terraces across from the shack and around the cold frame 'green house'.

I talk about how the tractor and bush-hog only cut one swath of vegetation across from the shack before it stalled and would not start again.

I show where I transplanted my garlic plants into larger flower pots and put them inside the cold frame 'green house'.

I show how big my potato plants had grown and I am rather excited by how well they are doing.

I talk about needing to start carrying stuff over to the new homesteading site but how I want to try to get a bunch of it moved with a vehicle in 'one fell swoop'.

I talk about it being a bit of a hike from the shack area to the new homestead area and how pulling the wagon loaded down with tools and everything I need for a day's work is a bit tiring especially since I have to pull it uphill most of the way. I talk about how the return trip from the homesteading area to the shack area is not too bad because at least I am going downhill and gravity is helping me some.

I talk about spending much of the day working in the new homestead area and how some of the day I spent working in the creek to make an area for the dogs to get water from and also so they could lay down in it to cool off.

I show where I mowed down some vegetation with the weed-eater that the bush-hog missed.

I show a bench that I made in the shade to be able to set my stuff down on while I am working and also have a place to sit down and get out of the sun.

I show where I used the swing-blade to start cutting a trail back into the woods so that I can access more of the surrounding area.

I talk about wanting to cut down a lot of the vegetation to help control the ticks. I also talk again about trying to reveal the terrain to see how it is shaped.

I talk about coming into the area during the winter and seeing a lot of logs on the ground and how that could indicate there being snakes in the area.

I talk about finding a lot of small poplar trees on a hill and how I could potentially put the hill between me (my homestead) and the road to help block any noise from the road. I talk about how the hill is also a good 'high point' where I could potentially gravity feed water from.

I talk about clearing some of the vegetation off the hill and how it is a real tangle of various things and how I keep having to change which tool I am using to clear with.

I talk about how the area gets limited sun and limited cellular service and how the elevation is not ideal for gravity feeding water from the creek to the homestead site.

I talk about how it is going to take a lot of work to clean the area up and how just hauling the tools over in the wagon each day is going to be laborious but how it will just be a process of continually 'pecking away at it' until it is done.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can always right-click the video and click 'Save Video As...' and download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71