Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 122 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 122 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about how it is all my smaller dogs' birthday and also Mother's Day.

I talk about removing the big multi-flora plants that were growing over the pear trees in the large black locust grove. I talk about getting jabbed full of thorns during the process and how I fell to the ground a few times when pulling on the multi-flora and it unexpectedly breaking. I talk about how one of the times that I fell I landed on top of my big dog.

I show where I raked up a lot of the briers near the large black locust grove that had previously been cleared with the tractor. I show the large piles created by the multi-flora that I removed from the pear trees.

I talk about clearing out more of the vegetation and vines that were growing among the black locust trees.

I show where I found two more rolls of hog wire buried under the vegetation beside the roll I had previously found. I also talk about finding a bunch of creosote fence posts and a few black locust fence posts piled near the rolls of hog wire.

I talk about leaving the vegetation along the road to act as a sound buffer, wildlife habitat and for use as erosion control along the bank.

I talk about perhaps planting some other trees near the black locust trees to help shade the trunks of the black locust trees to help keep the locust borer beetle away from them.

I talk about cutting down the grass growing in the driveway with the swing-blade so that it looks like the property is occupied.

I talk about finding a stand of kudzu growing near where the driveway meets the road and talk about needing to try to eradicate it.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87