Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 134 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 134 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-four days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show a new dog that got brought out to the farm on a trial basis. She was a two year old Rhodesian Ridgeback that was a pretty big dog compared to the size of my other dogs.

I show a kennel that the owner of the property brought out along with the dog. I talk about how in the instructions it called for two people and two hours of labor to assemble the kennel and how it took me by myself four hours to assemble it.

I talk about pulling the wagon to the field to clear out the remaining trees in it but how when I got over there the dogs would not listen and stay with me so I brought them to the shack and put them inside. Then I pulled the wagon full of stuff back over there to the field and right when I got there the fellow showed up with the new dog so I drug the wagon back and postponed that task.

I talk about all the dogs more or less getting along but how the new dog nipped my boy dog on the ear because he would not stop trying to hump on her.

I talk about why I set the kennel up where I did and that I put a black locust post inside the kennel so that I could later use it to put a roof over the kennel and also so that the dog would use it to scratch herself on instead of rubbing up against the kennel itself.

I talk about leveling the kennel with rocks as I was assembling it and how once I put the chain-link fencing on the frame it came up roughly two feet short. I explain how I used two ratchet-straps to pull the chain-link the remaining two feet and then securing it.

I talk about how 'chintzy' (cheap) the chain-link material itself was but how it would work for the task at hand.

I talk about how it is good to have a kennel around in the country because sometimes peoples hunting dogs get lost and it is always good to have a place to keep them until the owners can be found.

I show how I setup the gate of the kennel so that it cannot be opened outward so that it always makes the dog back up away from the gate when I open it.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can always right-click the video and click 'Save Video As...' and download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

You can listen to this video as a podcast here: https://listenlater.io/podcast/5bcd10982dd3f/

Listenlater.io is a new service where you can turn an online video into a podcast and listen to it later.

You can make your own podcast here: https://listenlater.io

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39