Picked Up A Few Different Types Of Potatoes

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Picked up a few different types of seed potatoes the other day. These are for personal consumption. I will be planting a lot more for our CSA (community supported agriculture) and roadside stand.
image

Red Northern potato

I love the richer red skin color of these potatoes. They are round to oblong in shape, have white flesh, store well, and are excellent for roasting and boiling.
image

Yukon Gold

Yukon golds are a large potato most distinctly known by its thin, smooth eye-free skin and yellow-tinged flesh. Our favorite way to cook Yukon Gold potatoes is roasting them in the oven with some olive oil and herbs.
image

Russet Norkotah

The Russet potato is the classic baked potato with brown skin and white flesh. I hope to grow a couple hundred pounds of these to be able to sell in our produce stand and to our CSA customers.
I'll be bringing y'all along with me when these potatoes go in the ground.

Thank You For Popping By!!

Follow Me At: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

French fries, baked potato, mashed potato, oven roasted with olive oil and herbs ? Now I'm craving :)

Lol. I know right.

We've grown those types before. I prefer the red potatoes taste wise and for us they were also higher yielding but that could be climate or soil dependent.

The reds are my favorite also. Thank you for the nomination on steemit basic income. I nominated you back.

I didn't expect anything it return so that is a nice surprise, thank you! So far I am really liking the program.

You're welcome! I don't completely understand it yet but I've definitely been seeing a influx of votes on certain posts of mine.

My partner loves potatoes theres a great garden centre by us that sells a good variety.

Are those varieties local to you? Or is just to hard to tell with potatoes!

Me encantan las papas fritas, sancochadas, al horno, divinas en cualquier presentación. Buen Post.

Podría comer patatas con cada comida! Gracias

I don't know that we have varieties of potatoes, but thanks for the information. While our staple food here in the Philippines is rice, we use potatoes in addition to our cooked food.

Potatoes are a great addition to every meal!

You just planted 0.24 tree(s)!


Thanks to @hopfarmnc

We have planted already 3352.92 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20756.58
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17