LOOK WHO CAME TO VISIT LAST NIGHT

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
This beautiful moth is a Rosy Maple moth. They're most active at night and this picture was taken at night that is one reason why the picture quality is poor.

image
The Rosy Maple moth lives in the United States and Canada. Mostly on the East Coast of the North American continent but they can also be found in Michigan, Indiana, Texas, Kansas and Nebraska.

image
They can live as long as nine months and also can be all white. My favorite are definitely the yellow and pink variety.

image
Rose Maple moths can have wingspans of up to 55 mm. I heard this guy flying towards the light before I even saw it. It's little yellow head is so cute and furry. If moth pets were a thing I'd have A Rosy Maple Moth. 😁

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY
FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image

Sort:  

Beautiful! Looks like cotton candy. I found a Cecropia moth caterpillar today that had just molted. Half tempted to jar it and watch it transform...

That would be cool. It would be even cooler if you could time lapse the process.

What a beautiful insect!!! such a beauty creation.

That it is @veenang. Thank you for the comment!

I thought all moths are gray, black or brown. This is the first time I see pink. It is truly amazing.

Yea it surprised me at first also. It almost didnt look real.

What a beautiful creature.
Thank you for showing me that this planet still brings out treasures 😊.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99