You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Establishing Roots

in #homesteading7 years ago

Last year I started my first go at a greenhouse. Now that the soil I used is well spent, I need to beef it back up before I try to use it again. We have a spot we put all the animal litter and I plan on scooping out of that for my soil. It will be full of chicken poo, a little cow poo, vegetable scraps, and wood shavings. It's been sitting and slowly getting things added to it for almost 5 years now. One year it was covered in rogue tomato plants! That was quite a learning experience.
Thanks for sharing with us! Good luck! Do you have trouble with the dogs digging in your dirt? Ours broke into my greenhouse right after the season was over and dug through my containers!

Sort:  

Thank you! I created a pallet compost bin and fenced it. The dogs actually had no interest in it but we did have some rouge plants as well. The birds do enjoy poking about in the piles. We had a really big watermelon grow out of the pile. We just let it do it's thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48