Walk With Me - A Photo Tour of the Homestead

I’ve been inspired by the many “Walk with Me” photo journals I’ve seen in the last couple of weeks. I love the glimpse into the homesteading and off-grid lives of others. And so I invite you to…Walk with me as tour the farm in pictures…

In Norther Alberta we are typically covered in snow for about 6 months out of the year...We spend half of our year with sights like this!
20170123_105650.jpg

Having snow for so many days of the year means introducing the puppies to chores and the animals we steward in some creative ways. Lily is older now, however, she was such a tender little thing (and still is). Lily will help us keep our sheep safe my learning to work with them and "fetch" them for me when requested.

20170310_082227.jpg

My woolie babies are just the most precious things. I raise Ile de France and Shropshire sheep. Both are hardy heritage breeds.

20170116_153614.jpg

Homesteading is a family affair and there are many opportunities for the little people to help. The favourite is bottle feeding some of the lambs.

20170412_165838.jpg

In return, the girls get feisty play things that are always happy yo see them.

20170331_072931.jpg

In the winter, we are able to collect water from a fresh spring on the land we steward. This is THE most amazing tasting water, so clean and crisp. We have had wonderful opportunities for "dates" when fetching water.

20170101_162135.jpg

The beautiful valley behind us makes for romantic walks.

20170101_154437.jpg

We aren't the only ones out enjoying the snow. The mama sows get to take their piglets for tours around the farm. It's quite the little trot with so many wee ones running around.

20161203_125530.jpg

Then back home for a snack :)

20161203_132939.jpg

Although the landscape of our homesteading adventure changes from time to time, as with our upcoming move off grid, the magic of this lifestyle doesn't. I am constantly enraptured in the beauty of our cozy life, even when its cold outside...

I wish you many warm memories of your winter this year.

From my home fire to yours, hai hai.

Sort:  

Beautiful ice wonderland! Very cute little lambs and the piglets. Did you need to herd them at all when the mama sows and their piglets toured the farm? Thank you for sharing!

Hey there! Not really, these mamas were quite accustomed to us (and very bright). As long as we herd them a bit the babies all follow. Pigs are pretty confident on our farm. They are one of the most mistreated animals around the world, and in my opinion the most intelligent (though sometimes keeps me on my toes). These mamas have always done very well with their little ones. We are quite fond of their daughters too.

OMG all the baby animals!! are you trying to break the internet?! LOL it looks quite cold where you are, but very warm hearts and home <3 thanks for sharing.

You are so very welcome! I know...they are just TOOOOO freaking cute. It's my favourite time of year...when all the babies are being born.

is it your child? she is very cute and sweet

Hey there, Yes, that's my youngest. She is definitely a sweetie. Thankyou for reading!

It is just stunning there! I am so happy for you and yours. I loved seeing your smiling faces <3

The animals are so beautiful as well. It looks like heaven over there. <3

It is such a beautiful area! It is heaven <3 I could never leave.

SUCH adorable pics!!!!

Thank-you! It's the CUTEST time of year for sure.

That was just gorgeous! The picture of your daughter feeding the lambs was precious, and the piglets feeding was sooooo cute too!! <3 Thank you! I agree with @mountainjewel about you breaking the internet!!

You are very welcome. Young children and young animals are definitely my favourite combination. There is such innocence and honesty...in the delight...sometimes the terror (when roosters are involved especially). Thanks for taking the time to read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15