Solar Charging Station

in #homesteading7 years ago

We are often asked how we charge our electronics. For about $300, I can charge my phone, Kindle and computer. My computer only draws 4.5 amps, so it charges pretty well except if it has been cloudy for several days. A larger computer would require a bigger battery and a larger solar panel.

I have a 300 watt 12 volt pure sine inverter ($72) with a LMS series controller ($37 at Amazon). The battery is a 75 watt deep cycle battery. You also need some 12 gauge wire and a couple of MC4 solar connectors.

IMG_20171015_143343.jpg

I mounted two 40 watt panels on the roof. If I were to do it over again, I would use one 100 watt panel, but I used what I had.

IMG_20171015_143910.jpg

Without much experience, it is easy to build your own small solar system.

CAUTION: When using your system, never let the battery go below 12 volts because you will quickly kill your battery.

For more great articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and our on-line store check-out https://anamericanhomestead.com/ and https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Thanks for reading and up voting.

Sort:  

Great post, appreciate you including the list of stuff needed and where to find it...it is very helpful. :D I'll have to make sure my hubby, @timmyoflinn, sees this post as he's the one that would be putting it all together for us. :D
Thanks for sharing and have an awesome day! :D

Great work. I love the DIY aspect of this. We are about to put up 5kW in our field but it would be great to have a little home backup unit like this as well because the field solar is just going to be grid tied, which still means reliance upon the grid.

That's a great solution! I would love to set up something like that here in South Africa!

I would love to do these kind of DIY but unfortunately I live in a highrise so my options are a bit limited.

After experiencing Irma it would be nice to have little set up like that. Thanks for the info. 🐓🐓

Very imformative blog. Thanks @hansjurgen. Upvoted and followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05