New Herb Garden Nearly Done - October 4, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb garden - Row 2, fairy and chicory crop October 2019.jpg
Row 2 – anise hyssop foreground, fairy and chicory behind

I got a late start in the garden due to window staining stress. These big windows are killers!

New Herb garden - Row 2, south side weeded crop October 2019.jpg

I got the south side of Row 2 done. I found Canterbury Bells I didn’t remember were there. And amazingly, they were doing excellently! There was also a good amount of blue flax also.

New Herb garden - Row 1, weeded crop October 2019.jpg

I did Row 1 also as I worked my way forward from the back of the walkway.

New Herb garden - Row 1, parsley and snapdragons crop October 2019.jpg

The snapdragons that wintered over are doing really well! I hope they winter over again. The parsley is doing well, and the predicted heavy frost for tonight should not bother them.

I cleaned up the elecampane as it was looking particularly bad. The pyrethrum is still flowering well. I can’t remember if frosts bother it.

New Herb garden - Row 1, santolina crop October 2019.jpg

But the most wonderful plant in Row 1 is the santolina. It is enormous and beautifully healthy. It was a surprise that wintered over and I’m hoping by being so robust, it will survive again.

New Herb garden - south perimeter crop October 2019.jpg

I had to weed the perimeter on the south side to clean out Row 1, as so much stuff had grown in through the fence.

New Herb garden - east perimeter2 crop October 2019.jpg
East side perimeter fence weeded

Part of the east side perimeter had been done when we put the fence back up, so I decided to finish the entire perimeter off.

New Herb garden - north perimeter crop October 2019.jpg
North side perimeter finished

This had been graded and seeded by the excavator, so I wanted to get the stray grass seedlings out before they were too established.

The south side of Row 2 and Row 1 need to be mulched. Then this garden will be finished until the frosts kill everything off.

I took the bird bath out and put it away for the winter along with the sundial. The fairy came in the house, as she does each winter. We’d never tried out the fountain and it got brought into the house also, after sitting by the front steps for weeks.

I remembered I still had (mostly dead) plants in the cold frame. There were 2 hollyhocks and 2 dianthus still alive. I planted them in their pots in the dug up New North garden area. We’ll see if they survive until springtime. We’re already for a freeze now.

Late afternoon in early crop October 2019.jpg
Late afternoon in early October on the farm

Sort:  

Lovely to see the herb garden in full glory. I have just planted nigella and echinacea.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've not grown nigella but have 2 varieties of echinacea, both doing well.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Did you find out what the one you thought was pineapple sage ended up being?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90