More Gardens May 19, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Walkway - bleeding heart crop May 2019.jpg
Walkway – bleeding heart

Yesterday it was warm enough at 6:30AM to be outside. Rain was forecast for 10AM. So I hustled out there and got both ends of the shed’s gardens done.

East Shed - looking north crop May 2019.jpg
East Shed – looking north: white Freckles violet, blue Freckles violet, geranium, 7 Sisters rose, evening primrose, daffodils, wood hyacinth

East Shed - looking south2 crop May 2019.jpg
East Shed, looking south: columbine, Sweet William, blue violet, white Freckles violet, evening primrose, wallflowers, peony, daffodils, wood hyacinths

I have a new hybrid this year, the white Freckles crossed with a blue violet, and made a light colored speckled violet. The geranium is still hanging in there.

East Shed - 7 Sisters rose crop May 2019.jpg

The 7 Sisters rose had a lot of winter kill and dying branches this year. I pruned it well and it has responded with lots of leaves. No buds yet…

I love BulbTone by Espoma! I have a spectacular display of bulbs in this garden due to being able to feed 2 years running in a timely fashion. Everything is huge. I will have to divide here soon.

The Siberian wallflower took a bad hit this winter and only 1 plant survived. But the best news! The peony definitely has 1 bud, the first in years! I am excited!

West Shed - looking north crop May 2019.jpg
West Shed – looking north, R – L: daylilies, white iris, daffodils, grape hyacinths, snowdrops

Not a lot of variety in this garden, but certainly a LOT of crabgrass as it’s often left to later in the season to get cleaned out. The white iris are smaller than usual and many had migrated to the edge of the bed and had to be transplanted back where they belonged. So I don’t know if there will be flowers this year.

Bulkhead - Sylvia violet crop May 2019.jpg
Bulkhead garden – Sylvia violet

This little pink violet has hung on in this garden for a decade or more. It is one that will have to be dug and moved and I hope it survives.

East - lily of the valley crop May 2019.jpg
East – lily of the valley

These aren’t as profuse this year, but there’s still the delicate scent in the air.

East and walkway crop May 2019.jpg
East garden and Walkway

This garden is particularly lovely this year. I am sad I must dig it all up.

Old North - Jacob's ladder crop May 2019.jpg
Old North garden – Jacob’s ladder, with lily of the valley on left, American ginger at bottom, and bloodroot on right

East lilacs2A crop May2019.jpg
East lilacs

There aren’t as many flowers this year. But the whole yard is scented with them. Working in the Big garden has been lovely, as the wind comes from the west and carries the scent.

Big garden crop May 2019.jpg

And speaking of the Big garden, it’s all weeds and I am not looking forward to cleaning it out. It’s been left because the catalpa must come down soon and I didn’t want to clean it out twice.

New Herb garden crop May 2019.jpg

The New Herb garden has been left until last this year.

Many of the flowerbeds were not cleaned out last fall due to rain, and I’m tackling them first. So, more weeds…. And a lot of dead stuff….

But I have new plants for it!

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I LOVE and prefer the untidiness of the last image LOL... nature isn't meant to be disciplined into rows with neat borders and fences. You may be in for a shock when you see the permaculture gardens and homesteads in other parts of the world. LOL....
You getting it ON and preparing to POST for the @freedomtribe Happiness Challenge? :) You still have 9 days. ;)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Beautiful gardens! Clearly you work very hard at them.
I've had to let my gardens go the past two years because of deer ticks - one time I went out to clear knotweed out of my black bamboo and got nine tick bites! I'd heard knotweed repels ticks and that's why it's all over now, but I have my doubts. I haven't found anything that protects me other than toxic stuff, so toxic stuff it is. I just don't garden as often. I miss it.

I've had chronic Lyme disease since childhood. We have ticks here, but I don't let it stop me. I could not bear to be stuck inside.... In fact, my gardens are part of my treatment for my Lyme.

Oh do please tell me how you have come to be able to be outside and not be afraid of ticks!
My big questions: how is the garden part of your treatment? and do you use any protection while in your garden? I collected a hundred tubes to make tick tubes, then questioned the safety of that for the animals.

I guess because I have been re-infected many times since childhood, all untreated until 2008 and I am still trucking along. Some infections were worse than others, but apparently none involved co-infections. I have non-repairable neurological damage from the Lyme.

Many asked so I made a post:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@goldenoakfarm/a-2nd-intro-or-how-i-got-started-growing-my-own-food

I don't use protection, and mostly can't wear long clothes due to autonomic insufficiency leading to inability to control my body temp. I've been bitten twice this year, so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87