Early Saturday Morning May 18, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Birdhouse1 crop May 2019.jpg

My helper friend brought me this birdhouse last week. It seems to be a sort of mini martin house. (He says house sparrows will all move in…he’s probably right.) But I can hope for martins.

Birdhouse2 crop May 2019.jpg

I love the design, and it’s very sturdily made. (He didn’t make it, but was given it.) It will need a solid pole up high and therefore a base under it to attach a pole to. I’m hoping we can get it up somewhere this week.

If we can attract martins, they eat LOTS of mosquitoes.

Dehydrating - comfrey crop May 2019.jpg

Because I’d done far too much on Wednesday and Thursday getting the onions planted, I was pretty wiped out on Friday. That’s ok, it was planned, as it was to rain all day.

It was raining when my helper friend arrived. He had brought all his extra Ailsa Craig sweet onion starts and went out and planted them in the rain. There were 6 leftover and I offered them on BuyNothing.

Next he took the remaining seedlings out of the living room to the cold frame and took down the light stand and put it away. I now have a front door again!

Dehydrating - comfrey crop May 2019.jpg

Then he cut me a lot of comfrey leaves and we loaded both dehydrators. Saturday morning I unloaded them and got about a quart of dried leaves.

Comfrey - 1-2 gal crop May 2019.jpg

I use a half gallon jar for comfrey for the hens in winter because it’s such a nutritious plant.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I'm curious about the need for bird houses - don't they simply nest in trees, eaves gutters and corners of the house like they do here?


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34