Doings May 24, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - 2nd walkway nearly done crop May 2019.jpg
Our progress on Thursday

My helper and I have been out in the New Herb garden the last couple days. I am cleaning out walkways and gardens and transplanting volunteers and he’s hauling the mulch and doing a little weeding.

We finished this row and I got about ⅓ of Row 3 weeded. I had to move a lot of chamomile over into the bed I cleaned out on Thursday.

While I was doing that he was doing the foliar spraying. My husband had fixed the sprayer with a new diaphragm assembly. Foliars are a weekly chore, done early morning on Thursdays. First he does the feeding, and then he does the raw milk to keep powdery mildew and a host of other problems at bay.

Pam measuring amendments crop May 2019.jpg

But the main reason we didn’t get far was that I had nearly used up the amendment for this garden and we had to mix up the new mix. It’s dusty business, so I wear a mask.

Last batch of butter crop Aug. 2017.jpg

I placed the first order for cream for butter yesterday morning. We only were able to get 1 gallon as the demand for it has jumped. I did place a standing order for 2 every week in June. I don’t know if I need that much.

Freezer inventory6 crop June 2018.jpg

I need to go inventory the freezer and see how much is left, and figure out how much we used. I use it for barter and gifts too.

David and 2 pollock2 crop Oct. 2016.jpg
With pollock in 2016

I was on my own yesterday as my husband had gone on a marathon fishing trip. It was forecast to be rough, and it was. But he’d paid ahead and didn’t want to lose the money, so he went. This marathon is reknown for the fabulous food people bring for potluck: moose stew, fresh cod chowder, lobster dishes, incredible sausage dishes, and desserts. He got 7 haddock.

Pam Lilacland1 crop May 2018.jpg

Yesterday my friend and I went to Lilacland. They’ve been doing major work there. A lot of pruning, labeling species, and a little nursery were new. The flowers weren’t as profuse as in past years, but with the heavy pruning, we were able to discern different species and compare them. Not as heavy scent as past years either, but it was still heaven.

Today is the kickoff of the tag sale season. There are tag sales everywhere and we are heading out early to hit as many as we can. There are 3 big weekends during the season: Memorial Day, Labor Day, and Columbus Day. I expect I will be wiped out by noontime. But hopefully I will have found some treasures.

Walkway - pink wood hyacinth crop May 2019.jpg
Pink wood hyacinth in the Walkway garden

East - white iris crop May 2019.jpg
The first iris to open in the East garden

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I LOVE that photo of you with the lilacs - must have been heavenly. I'd love to know more about the foliar spraying you do (Why, what, how). Still learning so much!

Loading...

All that butter? My brain INSTANTLY screams for freshly baked shortbread!! Yummo. The lilacs are glorious... :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75