December 14, 2018 @goldenoakfarm

New herb garden - cleanout1 crop Dec. 2018.jpg
New Herb garden cleaned out, sort of…

It was a sort of warm day on Friday, a week ago, warm enough for my helper friend anyways, if not for me, to be outside. We actually had sun! I stayed inside and finished the movies.

He went out and cleaned out the remainder of large stuff in the big garden but left the leaves and smaller stuff. There’s no mulch in that garden, so it needs cover.

New herb garden - cleanout2 crop Dec. 2018.jpg

Then he tackled the tall stuff in the New Herb garden. And again, left the leaves and smaller stuff. This garden is mulched, but doing a thorough clean out would be a bigger job than we wanted to tackle in the cold. This will be the only cleaning out in gardens unless we get a big thaw.

Herbs for hens crop Dec. 2018.jpg

While he was out there, I made up a new batch of herbs for the hens: wormwood for internal parasite control, oregano for calmness, calendula for beta carotene, raspberry leaves and nasturtiums for nutrition.

Mayhem cutting fish Dec. 2018.jpg

While I held down the home front and did the farm chores, my husband went deep sea fishing. He came home with 71 lbs of cleaned filets, from about 20 fish. He had a wonderful “mental health” day 30 miles offshore.

Eggs - 16 eggs2 crop Dec. 2018.jpg

The 18 hens have been laying very well and we got 16 eggs from 18 hens for the first time, Friday evening. A week earlier the chart tipped to having more large size eggs than medium eggs. So now I am again charging $5/doz. for eggs.

When I had finished all my inside work, I worked on the puzzle and read a Christmas story. I kept the woodstoves going and it was lovely and warm inside.

Source:
Cutting fish: http://www.eastmansdocks.com/

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67