The Homesteading Dream: Why I Do What I Do, What I Have Learned & How I Want To ExpandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Why I Homestead


dddd.jpg

Image Credit

Years ago when I started to envision the homestead life I wanted, I had to write out a few lists. I needed to know exactly what I wanted in and on a homestead. I had to figure out how I was going to financially accomplish my vision. I had to decide how far I was planning on taking my dream.

  • Did I want livestock?
  • Was I going to go off-grid?
  • Was I ready to give up some modern day conveniences? If so, which ones?
  • What skills do I have to accomplish this dream?
  • And what skills am I willing to learn?

But the most important question was... WHY?

Why did I want this lifestyle?


Why I Do What I Do


When I lived more rural and had five acres of land, I was all set to start the homesteading way of life. But I have moved from that property to a MUCH smaller plot of land (only about 1/4-1/3 of an acre), but I am making do.

I think the homesteading idea came from being a single/divorced mom of three and the financial need to being frugal and watching every penny. I became very creative with things around the home. I used my cognitive thinking to reuse, recycle and re-purpose many things in my home.

As I made these changes, then adjusted to them, it became easier to make the next money conscience change. From there it was the domino effect. My kids, who protested at first, came to understand the need (versus the want) for the changes and eventually embraced the changes because it meant we had more money for essentials and living.

So the need for survival actually turned into a passion for a lifestyle. Simple as that.

I have to admit when I was a struggling mom years ago, I may have been more hectic and constantly on the go, but I was happier. My soul felt full. When I would lay down to sleep at night, more times than not absolutely exhausted, I had a smile on my face. The smile represented a level of freedom. A degree of accomplishment.

My husband now was not as enthusiastic as I am about homesteading. He is more of a buy as you need... replace it... why cook from scratch kind of a guy. So when we married, I reigned in some of my homesteading ways. He is the city guy and I am the country gal. When we married we moved rural. I left the country and he left the city and we met in the middle.

But recently I have heard the calling again. I have sensed the loss of certain things. You know... that empty feeling inside like you are missing a crucial piece of your life.

We talked about this topic a couple of years ago when I became a SAHWife. I told him about my passion for homesteading and how much I missed it. He is VERY supportive of it now that he sees how much it means to me.


What I Have Learned


NOTHING happens overnight. Or in a week... or a month.

Everything takes time, but with persistence and knowledge, anything is possible.

I have always been a hurry up and get it done kind of personality. When I was in junior and senior high school I was usually the first done with a test, I kept a tight schedule (still do) and I was forever having a mind competition with myself more so than others to be the best. Get the highest test score.

So I learned to SLOW down. Take my time and make/create the best I can without worrying about competition.

I have also learned that I want healthier food choices in my life, so I garden.
I want food without preservatives, so I can vegetables from the garden.
I want less stress, so I spend hours cooking, baking, gardening and puttering with things around the house.
I want to live longer, so by cutting out fast food meals and cooking from scratch I can have more years with my husband.
I want to feel accomplished; but not by notoriety of a famous person or how much money I have in the bank; or under the mattress.. I want the inner peace of knowing I have learned a new skill that will help me thrive.


How I Want To Expand

Containers & Space Allotment Restrictions

I have started being more careful about planning my garden; working towards container and bucket gardening. This past season I had about six containers with peppers; which freed up more space for tomatoes, corn and green beans.

Next year I will double the containers and buckets at the minimum. I have some great garden plans formulated in my head and in my gardening journal notebook.


Greenhouse

Right now I have a small portable greenhouse for my seedlings in early spring to summer and then my herbs. Next year I am planning on either adding a second one or adding a more permanent one that I can hopefully have full year-round access to for my herbs and vegetables.

20170810_122445.jpg

This is what I have now

th.jpg
This is what I want to have
Image Source

Animals & Livestock


Yes! I want to have chickens again. Nothing beats a fresh laid egg for breakfast. I miss waking up to the crow of a rooster. Every time I would go to clean a cucumber, toss some potato peels or what have you of food scraps into the garbage, I think... "I should be putting this into the scrap bowl".

I want to have a goat. I want to learn to make more cheese than only ricotta and I have a special place in my heart, and on my tongue, for goat cheese. The tang is addictive!

Skills

  • Soap Making- starting to make now
  • Cheese making- ready and willing
  • Sewing by hand- limited but I get by
  • Learning more about herbs & essential oils- every day I read more
  • Hunting, gathering and foraging- I can hunt, I own two guns but I want the knowledge of gutting, dressing and cleaning, I want to be able to recognize more plants for eating

So, how about you? Why are you living the homesteading dream? Or why do you want to?

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead discordcommunity and have fun chatting with us- contact @pennsif or @greenacrehome for more information and to join!
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

I can resonate with you on so many levels @goldendawne I myself as a widow with 3 children back from 2010 and onward I was that struggling mom, finding purpose in the homesteading way of life. I have an acre of land and managed to keep my mortgage going throughout this time. I also wish I could move to a larger plot of land and have livestock. Loved every inch of this post. As always you did not let me down. Thank you

thank you!!
I am glad I could touch so many of you who read my post.
AN acre? Oh, I am jealous here. I am working on planning out some things for next season. I have learned so much here on steemit that I want to try and implement my findings and new knowledge.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This was a really well written post! I like being able to live my life without relying much on the outside world. Livestock (like chickens, rabbits, and cattle) are my favorite parts of homesteading. The two questions I had for you is of your greenhouse. Is that the one you can get at Harbor Freight and how well has this one worked for you? We are thinking about getting a greenhouse, so any pros or cons of this model would be much appreciated.

The greenhouse I currently have I purchased online.I have seen the ones in the HF catalog or sales paper and the HF closest to me doesn't have greenhouses for sale in the store; only online.

This greenhouse I am using worked quite well. I bought it with the intention of using it for seedling growth outside in the transition period of house to ground, but I kept a lot of my herbs in there most of the summer. Plus I had some greens (arugula, spinach) in it until they "fizzled" out from producing. I think the one I have right now is a perfect one for someone who wants to see if they like greenhouse gardening; you know, the beginner model.

I like it so much I would either add a second one like it (but a little bit bigger as I have BIG plans for next season) or just getting a the more permanent structure I would like to have.

Very easy to assemble and holds the heat in REAL good overnight when still a little cool in the early spring or late fall.

If you are tall, like me, I have to duck my head down to get inside. I am 5'11" and the roof's peak is about 6'5" but the door entry is about 5'7". I use the orange bucket as my stool and will spend hours upon hours organizing, pruning, talking to.. etc all the herbs and plants inside.

I don't like how the wire racks sit on the shelves so I kind of "rigged" it a little. It seems as though the racks were either too tight to stay in place or they shifted a little. But it's an easy fix.

This post is homesteading gold. I laughed so hard about the "This is what I have now" and the "This is what I want" picture.

We all have big dreams but most people don't know what they want. You do.

Who knows... If you stay on Steem and the price of this crypto increases then you might be able to buy a glasshouse :)

Seperator.png

I also like chickens, they are badass. Except when you have to kill those fuckers, then you gotta get out the cleaver chop some heads.

But you get used to that after a while.

One thing about me... I am VERY detail orientated, OCD and a habitual list-maker.
I do the whole pros and cons scenario with every aspect of life.
Buy this? Buy that? WAIT! I have to consult my LIST! If you/the item/decision has too many cons you could be axed... just like the chickens! lol

That is not a negative trait.

I think it is quite cute.

Besides that, men are the logical ones who need to lead, we make the tough decisions for the family.

lol- not quite

Besides that, men are the logical ones who need to lead, we make the tough decisions for the family.

At least not in this house. Decisions made together but I definitely add my input (and my pro/con list).

Sounds like you wear the pants in your house.

No, not even close.
Most house matters, the bigger ones, are decided together. Small daily ones are on me I suppose. But it all works out in the end.

You run around without pants?

Glad to hear it all works out.

This is great work and its very interesting post. i like it

I wish I could upvote this post 10 x! So much of your sentiments ring true to me. The small space, the yearning for more, the marrying a city man....

Really great post, capturing some wonderful dreams you have. :D

Thank you!
Yeah.. I love the country gal, city guy reference. We are SO that!
He is/was the buy a new car every three years... buy the best of the best.
I am the reuse, make-do and why do we want a car payment thinker. But it works for us.

Wonderful post! I have had a longing for the land for as long as I can remember. I grew up in the biggest city (more like a town) on a small island, but I had my own garden plot, my parent's had an allotment and my childhood was filled with fresh food straight out of the dirt. I frowned upon carrots that didn't have a light dusting on dirt still on them at the age of 3.

I tend to feel stuck at times in our tiny apartment, but I know we have to be faithful with little and that in time the Lord will provide.

Yes!

we have to be faithful with little and that in time the Lord will provide.

Where there is a will, there is a way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25