I think the job is done!

in #homesteading5 years ago

It's about 86 degrees as I write this, and it's getting to be late afternoon, so I have to think it was hotter when I was working today. The big dog thinks so. She goes with me on goat rounds and won't relax if I'm working. She thinks it's her job to babysit me in case a bear attacks or something. She's tired now!

IMG_20190510_144253293.jpg

I went and clipped back all the blackberry vines and brush from the hillside covered in garbage today, so that the poor kids coming tomorrow to work won't fall in a hole and break their ankles. Frankly, I'm surprised none of the goats got injured doing this job. The hazards were invisible until the brush was removed. I will show you what it looks like now that I'm done, and then I promise I will shut up about this hill! As a reminder, here's what it looked like when we started.

IMG_20190428_152855234.jpg

That was from the top looking down. Here's what it looks like from the bottom looking up.

IMG_20190510_121736997.jpg

The goats will eat the leaves of the blackberries, but not the vines, so I go in and clip them to the ground. I try not to leave any pieces longer than 18 inches, because that makes it much easier for the homeowner to clean it up afterward, if they feel so inclined.

IMG_20190510_145641.jpg

These are some of the things I can't do without. When we started the business, we bought cute little bypass pruners because we didn't know any better. Turns out some of the blackberry canes are an inch in diameter, so we need limb loppers to get through them. And heavy leather gloves are a must. Some of the thorns will go through those, but I have learned to live with the daily routine of digging thorns out of myself when I get home from work.

IMG_20190510_150241.jpg

It's easier on my shoulders if I start clipping at the top of a hill and work my way down, so I don't have to hold my arms above my head. On a hill this steep, that meant that as I clipped, the bits of cane made a nice slippery carpet for me to body surf down the hill on. I clipped as fast as I could while I was sliding, and then had to climb back up and go again. It would have been fun except for the bleeding. But enough complaining about that stupid hill!

We took the long way to town to do the grocery shopping, and I stopped to take some nice non-blackberry pictures along the way.

IMG_20190510_130205690.jpg

IMG_20190510_130216436_HDR.jpg

Even though we're about 40 miles from the coast, all our water is tidal. I can get the best pictures at slack tide or just before, when the water is really still.

IMG_20190510_130424189_HDR.jpg

When I got home from all that, I discovered that the puppies had found a roll of paper towels while I was gone!

IMG_20190510_141451891.jpg

Be well, everyone! I'm staying on flat ground for at least 48 hours! And I'm taking a nap!

Sort:  

Hello...!!
@goat-girlz
Wow... 86 degrees....😯..!!!! That's toasty for sure..!!
Lopping down blackberries bushes is hazardous. I have done it many a time but not on a steep hill. I'm glad the goats and you didn't get hurt. There is a BIG before and after thats for sure ...!!!
Beautiful photos of the water and tree reflections.
Puppies and paper towels... lol..lol..
What little mischievous darlings..😮😄.

I'm sure glad that job is done! They're on flat ground mowing grass now. No work for me, just for them. It's supposed to be hot again today, but I don't have to be out in it as much. My darling puppies are going to be the death of me! When they get going there's no stopping them!

Posted using Partiko Android

Another full day for @goat-girlz ":-) and no goats involved....

It's so much easier to clip after the boys are out of the way! Otherwise they "help."

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah, just a phase of the job Phase 1 goats...Phase 2 Goat girl ./... :-)

Hahahaha! Right!

Posted using Partiko Android

Reading about your day makes me tired. I wonder where you find the energy. haha... Have a great weekend. Do you rest on weekends, or do you work too? I guess there is no such thing as weekends on a farm? :-)

I don't know where the energy comes from either! And no, I don't have weekends. I work every day. Not always as hard as the last few have been! At the very least I have to milk the goats every morning.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. Take it easy and enjoy your weekend. :-)

Beautiful photos @goat-girlz! Omg those paper towels!
Sure looks like a wonderful place there! :-)

That's pretty warm! And you are Super woman! Or is it Wonder woman. Can i just supervise? From the beach? :)

On another note. You have high and low tides?

Hahahaha! I wish I was Super! The job would be much easier! You can supervise.

We're right on the Columbia River, which is huge, so when the tide moves, it moves the river too, for miles. That moves all the little creeks and sloughs in the area as well. It can get exciting in the winter. The little park in the middle of town goes under water several times a year. There's a plastic sea serpent for the kids to climb on that makes a particularly good effect!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know why i was surprised about that. I guess it's the distance from the ocean. We have 3 rivers near me that are mostly just small streams when it's not raining but when it does rain they can get roaring pretty good. They are affected by the tide too. Oh! I just thought of this. They have huge walls and berms and they are fenced off and you can't go near them so you don't see the tide change. unless you sit there for hours watching from a bridge or something... sheesh that was a ramble on :)

One thing I hate about nature is thorns! We're clearing an acre of pure woods on our land to garden and there are so many thorn plants. My ducks love to escape out in the woods into the thorny plant patches and past the neighbor's barbed wire fence so I end up scratched and bloody getting the home. My toddler does the same thing to toilet paper if she gets her hands on it. Had to install a lock outside the bathroom to keep her out.

Your toilet paper has thorns? Where are you shopping? Hahahaha! I have a houseful of puppies and they have discovered toilet paper as well. They can TP the yard in about ten minutes if I'm not looking. I wish I could loan you my goats! They would get rid of that stuff in no time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice the big dog stays by your side. My mother had a Collie dog who did the same for her. One day she was hanging clothes on the outside line and a groundhog was near. Speedy made one lunge and broke the neck of the groundhog in seconds. He really was on guard if any danger was near..or so he thought..poor groundhog!

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I see you also need a cat maid! hahaha Have a good rest!

Aww! The big pooch was following you around, when she should have been keeping the puppies under control! At least it was just the paper towels, though. When my last dog was a puppy, he decided to gnaw the wood furniture.

If only it was just paper towels!

IMG_20190511_084557067.jpg

The big dog is not the mother of the puppies and has absolutely no patience for them! She goes with me to give her a break from their little yapping faces. Poor old lady. She's doing the dog version of yelling at the kids to stay off her lawn.

Ewww.... That keyboard's done! I thought maybe they'd pay attention to her, since she's in charge and all... Guess not!

She could have taken the matriarchal route, but she went full curmudgeon. I now using a USB keyboard!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89