I started out with poop, but ended up with flowers

in #homesteading5 years ago

Big surprise, but today involved more poop! I didn't have my phone on me yesterday, but I had it today, so I can share my suffering with you.

IMG_20190425_130231707.jpg

I had a couple of great shots of how deep the manure is when you have nine goats living in a stock trailer for months at a time (about two feet), but I couldn't get them to load into my post, so I will have to settle for this one, which is grass and weeds sprouting from the muck because it's been in there for so long. I really should have done this months ago, but the winter was so cold and depressing that I couldn't be bothered. Now the homeowner is bringing cows to the property, so I need to move the goats, which is actually a good thing since they keep escaping and I can't stop them. Today I fed them and went out behind the barn to work on the trailer, and when I went back 45 minutes later to give them their baking soda they were nowhere to be found. I walked the whole fence line and called for them, and then stood still for a minute to see if I could hear a rustling or something from the blackberries. I heard a goatie sound from behind me. I turned around and they were all on the wrong side of the fence again! We are moving a group of them tomorrow, and the rest of them hopefully on Saturday.

I took a bunch of pictures of the things that have survived the chickens and puppies in my flower garden behind the house.

IMG_20190425_165927573.jpg

The ferns are coming back to life.

IMG_20190425_165949511.jpg

I can't remember the name of this ground cover, and it used to be more prolific, but I was very happy to see that some of it has survived.

IMG_20190425_170029121.jpg

I had several people give me a hard time when I planted forget-me-nots in the flower bed, because they are relentless re-seeders and can take over everything if you're not careful. I transplanted many of the babies to the edge of the woods, where they can proliferate to their heart's content. These are the ones that planted themselves in the rock wall in the back garden.

IMG_20190425_170109990.jpg

I am having a brain hiccup and can't remember the name of this plant either. If anyone knows the name of either of the plants I posted pictures of that I can't remember, please let me know! I might wake up at two in the morning and remember the name, but if I don't it would be great to have a shortcut!

Be well, everyone, and try not to move more than 400 pounds of poop in a day, unless you have a tractor!

Sort:  

The goats on the wrong side of the fence strikes me as so funny :)

Farming is tough work @goat-girlz. We don't keep live animals but we grow all our own veggies, process and freeze a year's worth (hopefully) . That's always our goal . We harvest blueberries, raspberries and blackberries that are wild . We tap our sugar maple trees and make syrup, we grow our own hops too, for guess what ? BEER. So even though it's hard, it's so worth it. Enjoy

Hello...!!!
@goat-girlz
I have no freakin clue how keep unfollowing you... I keep missing your post.. :( Anyhoo...
Poop to Flowers 🌻 lol..!!
Beautiful flowers photo's and some envy. But it's really starting to happen here. I ABSOLUTELY love forget-me-nots ...!!!!!!! 😍.
Day by day it sounds like your getting some catch up from the Winter. I hope the future pasture will keep the goats very busy eating and give you a little break.
:D

I thought you just stopped loving me. Haha! I'm glad things are starting to wake up in your neighborhood. I will buy a geranium in your honor as soon as they show up in the store!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello...!!!!
@goat-girlz
My love is totally unconditional :D
I wish I could give you cuttings from my Martha Washington. It's getting so big..!!!!
I look forward to seeing photos of your Geraniums when you get them..!!!!
:)

I'll be sure to post some!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice you got lovely flowers for the poop!

Goats = fertilizer =IMG_20190425_170029121.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66