Baby raccoon update!

in #homesteading5 years ago

This morning I talked to the woman who adopted my little baby raccoon, and I got her to send me some pictures. He's still cute! They are calling him Morty. These were all sent via text, so if the quality isn't great, that's why.

2795061727239607769.jpg

A few days after she adopted him, she called in a bit of a panic because he suddenly stopped taking his bottle and he refused to eat anything solid. She said she would rather have him go to someone else than have him starve to death. I had no idea what to tell her, but eventually she talked to a woman who runs a raccoon rescue and was told to rough him up. Apparently you have to let them know who's boss or they will walk all over you. She said it was really hard to do, but she flipped him on his back and tickled him roughly, and just like that, he went back to the bottle!

-1958344655002379703.jpg

I would never have thought of something like that, but it makes sense, especially if you've ever seen how mother cats treat their kittens. They don't put up with any nonsense. I was relieved to hear he had shaped up, since I don't know anyone else who wants to raise a raccoon.

-9131620495968612547.jpg

Morty's new mom bought him a kiddie pool and put it on the porch, and she said he does cannonballs into it and splashes around and has a wonderful time. I didn't know that raccoons liked water so much, aside from washing their food in it. Just the thought of a baby raccoon doing a cannonball into a kiddie pool is enough to keep me giggling all afternoon.

-6079053285640331999.jpg

He sleeps in a crate at night, but he roams the house during the day, climbing on everything and knocking things over. She says it's like raising a toddler. He wants to touch everything, but he's pretty clumsy, so I imagine her decor has taken a beating. He uses a litter box, which must be so nice, considering she has very light colored carpet! Seeing all the pictures really made me miss him. I'm glad he has a good home, but he was so much fun to have around. No matter what his name is now, he'll always be Robin to me.

-5567599868226476008.jpg

Be well, everyone, and take care of those furry critters!

Sort:  

How nice to know that cutie Robin is all right and it can be seen in your photos. Let his life be carefree and fun. This kind woman became a good guardian for him. The last frame with this pink toy looks very touching. Thank you @goat-girlz, for sharing how you keep in touch with this cute little raccoon Robin.

Thank you! He was so hard to say goodbye to. It makes me feel better to know he is so happy and loved.

Posted using Partiko Android

lmao
my friend has a raccoon on the reservation and that thing causes so much trouble in the household
great post, i dont usually read articles like this but since i got rid of my goats i find myself reading a lot of your posts
thanks for the chuckles

I would have kept him except for the chaos he would cause as an adult. All my chickens would become appetizers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhh cute - and this is good parenting advice for humans - you have to let them know who's boss or they will walk all over you...she flipped him on his back and tickled him roughly, and just like that, he went back to the bottle! - maybe that'd work for our daughter who's trying to wean her daughter (20 months old). We weaned that daughter at gunpoint, at age two, I like to say, though in fact we just introduced bottle and pacifier to a toddler (bad mom! bad bad me).
Thanks for the fun, furry, cuddly photos!

He is the cutest little guy! Let me know if your daughter tries this method. I'm curious to hear if it works on humans! Haha. My son had a pacifier too and he turned out alright. I'm glad you enjoyed the photos!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goat-girlz,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Awww, cute! Too bad they don't make great pets as adults, though. She didn't take a video of him with an alkaseltzer, yet, did she? Mwahahaha

Dang! I forgot to tell her that! I will get her to try it and take a video. Maybe she could drop one in his pool!

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad he's settled. I love a happy ending.

OMG! Yep, omg. Uses a litter box?! How is this even possible? Haha. And a good hard tickle to show him who's boss! Eat your food you little goofball! Canon balls in the pool! I love it.

Cute little fellow. But every now and then you have to show him who's the boss. I like that 😊

😊😘
Beautiful sweet photos. Thank You for the update. I'm soooo glad Robin/ Morty is doing well...❤. Very interesting about the bottle.!! I hope to see some pool pictures...

I'm hoping she sends some pool photos too! That sounds so cute!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lucky Robin! He’s having a good time!
Four cats are quite a handful for me! A raccoon will just knock me out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70