Homemade Whipped Body Butter

in #homesteading6 years ago

A Recipe For Dry Skin Relief!


IMG_9396 (1).JPG

When it's like this outside:


IMG_9340.JPG

My skin dries out faster than a bag of pepperoni without a silica packet! Although one appreciates a flaky puff pastry, I highly doubt anyone wants to resemble a sun loving reptile or leave trails of skin crumbs in their wake as they sashay through life. I know that I don't want to go down that route!

That said, this time of year especially, my skin screams out for all things moisturizer. As one of those frugal, self-reliant, DIY types I tend to want to make my own consumables if I'm able. Body care products are an area that I am more than able to create my own products in, and as I am always trying to be more conscious of what I am slathering my hide with, making my own moisturizing products is kind of a no brainer.

Home made cosmetics can be as simple as infusing some olive oil in a crockpot with some lavender buds and slathering that resulting goodness on your skin. However, that kind of application can be a touch messy. When I want to utilize an oil based moisturizing product I tend to whip up a body butter.

A body butter is just that, a butter like shea or mango, oil, and fragrance. One of the things I like about body butters is since they don't contain water, they don't need preservatives. You can add vitamin E to help prevent the oils from going rancid, but I just tend to make body butter in small enough batches that I would use the product before anything would start to go foul.

To begin with, I start a pot of water simmering and grab out a sterilized pint canning jar to act as my double boiler.

Using my trusty kitchen scale I measure out my shea butter:


IMG_9386.JPG

My oils:


IMG_9390.JPG


IMG_9392.JPG

I decided to use sweet almond oil and rice bran oil as my oils. The sweet almond oil is loaded with vitamin E and other essential nutrients and the rice bran oil is a superstar when it comes to deep penetrating moisturizing!

Today was a bonus because my daughter was my measuring assistant!


My assistant placed the oils and butter into the glass jar and placed it into the simmering water on the stove. You want the water to go a few inches up the side of the jar, but I am never too fussy about water level.

IMG_9388.JPG

My assistant used a plastic chopstick to stir the melting and melding butter and oils while I measured out the fragrance. I really dig citrus scents, so today I went with orange essential oil. Sometimes simple and straight forward is the way to go!

Once my oils and butter melted completely, I popped the jar into the freezer. You want your oils and butter to cool til they form a layer on the top.

IMG_9395.JPG

I then poured on my fragrance, and proceeded to whip the daylights out of that mixture with my hand held mixer. You want your butter to double in volume, and that took all of a minute of whipping or so!

Look how glorious it is!


IMG_9399.JPG

This body butter recipe is super simple. I hope you try it!


Simple Body Butter Recipe

80% butter (not the cow or peanut variety! shea or mango are good choices!)
19% oil
1% fragrance

Melt butter and oils in double boiler. Place melted butter and oils in the freezer until top layer is solid. Add fragrance. Whip until doubled in size. Slather on one's skin and sigh in moisturized contentment!

Recipe notes: I use grams instead of ounces when I formulate my recipes, so for a 200gram (about 7+ounces) yield you would use 160 grams of butter, 38 grams of oil, and 2 grams of fragrance. Just adjust recipe to yield whatever quantity you desire!

Bring on da buttah!!



And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's body butter slathered iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Does it dissolve into the skin well ?

It truly does. The texture is just like butter, and it melts right into the skin. For about 30 mins or so you will "glisten" lol and the greasiness level depends on what butter you utlize in the recipe. I think mango butter is a little less greasy than shea, and that is why I use sweet almond oil, for it absorbs right into the skin.

So sorry it took me so long to respond to you @journeyoflife, I had a birthday party to help set up and attend, might have had to sleep in after that😊

That looks wonderful! My skin is not ready for the cold weather.

Thank you! Mine either, the butter really does help keep my skin from being too annoyed this time of year!

Oh goodie, now I know what to do with that shay butter stashed in my drawer. It's easy enough even for me to accomplish, "I" who messed up a few batches of soap. LOL
Thank you for the recipe, the older I get the more dry my skin becomes🐓

LOL! I so want to read about your soap chronicles one day!

I mess up on a lot of stuff, but that whole FAIL thing is good, right? First Attempt At Languishing, lol!!

You are most welcome, I totally get the whole drying of the skin thing, and I hope that your shea butter in the form of body butter serves you well😊

I make my own lotion bars, soap and now deodorant and this whipped lotion looks awesome! I will have to experiment; I don't have the rice bran oil but I do have vitamin e and tea tree oil.

Wow! You are totally on the DIY body care train! That is awesome! I look forward to reading a series of posts full of your experiments! It's so much fun to just start creating with the stock that you have on hand, I really love the combination of Argan and olive oils too!

Yes it is!
Love making my own DIY health and beauty products

Magnesium and coconut oils would be a couple of other good ingredients too.

Ah, magnesium makes me happy, quite literally lol! And I happen to be sipping a cup of homemade hot cocoa that has coconut oil swimming in it. Both fine ingredients for sure😊

I've heard magnesium oil is great!
Just need to find some.

If I remember correctly, it's not technically an oil.

I think I made some with pure magnesium flakes and distilled water.

Yes it is. I am just having a difficult time finding locally. I'm not a HUGE online shopper. I prefer to shop locally, but... sometimes you have to bypass what you want to get what you need.

You might try a local health food store. The label on the jar I have is "Pure Magnesium Flakes (Magnesium Chloride Brine).

This looks amazing! I'm determined to give it a try as my skin is screaming for some real good moisturization = )

Thank you! There is something so satisfying about making your own stuff, and this particular stuff really does moisturize quite well, good luck!!

Excellent Outline for the Entire Process. I Also Find Much Satisfaction in Making Something Myself without Having to Rely on Costly Purchases!

Oh! Thank you so much for your kind comment! I, too, am a bit of a cheapskate when it comes to many things, especially cosmetics. The cost of personal care items kills me, as I know quite a bit about their chemical composition, so I am constantly experimenting with new recipes, methods, and ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06