A Berry-full Day!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Strawberry Pickin' And Processin'-Plus How I Make My Favorite Face Mask!


IMG_2631.JPG

Well hello and a berry good evening to you all! Let me tell you my Steempeeps, the last forty-eight hours have been a marathon of epic proportions! I spent Wednesday evening in a show beef clinic with my 4-H beeflings, got up at the crack of dawn and picked almost fifty pounds of strawberries, went to the library and helped facilitate a play on the life of Mozart for a hundred people, played Magic the Gathering EDH until midnight, and got up and canned strawberry jam all day. In all honesty, I am not really sure what day it is at this point. However, I am getting a bit ahead of myself, as this post is not about a couple days in the like of Kat but rather about what I do with strawberries!

Usually I just have to walk out to the orchard and pick my yearly strawberry harvest requirement, BUT bad planning and the putting in of a new crop of plants meant that I had to take a trip to one of my favorite U-pick farms to replenish my yearly strawberry stock. The farm that I headed to is called Carver Farms, a place of sheer small U-pick farm enjoyment! I have been driving to Newman Lake, Washington and picking everything from Walla Walla onions to strawberries off of Carver Farms eighty acres for fifteen years. It's a really cool family run farm with a smashing pumpkin (heh) patch.

IMG_2633 (2).JPG

For years I would call the ladies at Carver Farms inquiring about opening day for strawberry picking, but these days all one needs to do is give their Facebook or website pages a glance to know when opening day is or what is in season. So, armed with the knowledge that yesterday was the beginning of picking, my family and our neighbor's crew found ourselves hurtling toward the strawberry patch.

In all the years I have been picking stuff at Carvers, I have never seen the sheer volume of people present that was in the field that day. I guess the secret is out! There was a line of cars 80 acres in length at the 7am opening time. It was bananas, er berries!

Another shocker is that there were so many people there that we had to wait in line 30 minutes to have our fruit weighed and paid. I mean, I picked twenty pounds of berries in fifteen minutes, as this year's crop is amazingly plentiful, so I had a good chuckle as I stood in line on a farm. In fact, I commented on how incredible the whole thing was to one of the ladies that are always present in the scale shack, a lady that I have been chatting with every year now for years, and she was just as awed as I was.:)

IMG_2632.JPG

Berries procured and a doughnut pit stop executed for the son of GK, we made it home. My family left me in the kitchen, they went out and got the tractor so they could drill the hundred or so post holes that we need for our outdoor arena. I had to be to work at two, so I got to washing and hulling the berries. Let me tell you, processing fifty pounds of berries all by your lonesome takes a bit of time, and a lot of Tame Impala...Feel for the puppies people, they were heavily serenaded while I worked.

Half of my berries were for jam, which I will get to in a moment, but the other half I washed, hulled, and spread in a single layer on wax paper for individual freezing. Why do I do this? Well, a lot of the time you don't need an entire gallon of berries for something, like a smoothie for example, so if you freeze the berries individually and repackage them, you can just grab what you need instead of thawing and having to use a whole bag. Sometimes I use my head. Hmmm, that might be an exaggeration.

Anyway, it takes awhile to freeze berries individually and repackage them, but as I do our family's year supply at one time, I just suck it up and get it done.

IMG_2637 (2).JPG

Today, I had to deal with the other half of the berries, and by that I mean it was strawberry jam time. If you examined my son's DNA you would probably find the DNA of peanuts heavily interspersed in his genetic profile. That kid eats an incredible amount of peanut butter and jelly, and he informed me the other day that, "Mom, we are out of jam, and I don't like store jam. Yours is the best." As I labored and sweated my way through about twenty pounds of jam making today, I just kept reminding myself of that sweet and appreciative sentiment that my Bobo expressed. Jam-making motivation achieved so to speak.

IMG_2640.JPG

After plucking pint after pint out of the canner, I realized that I was pretty tired after all of the past couple day's worth of excitement and decided to head to my bathroom for a nice soak in the tub. As I headed to my bathroom I grabbed the bowl that I had placed four big strawberries in earlier that day. You see, one of my favorite strawberry things is my homemade strawberry and honey face mask. The mask's entire composition is four smashed strawberries of moderate size and a teaspoon of local honey. That's it, no strange ingredients that could probably fuel one of Elon Musk's rockets, just things that I would put into my belly. My simple little face mask meets all of my skin care requirements, it takes little prep, is fun to slather on my mug, and makes my skin super happy after it chills out on my face for about fifteen minutes. I usually just slather it on my face and read for a bit or soak in the tub, then I wash the residue off and slather on some moisturizer. It also entertains the inner infant in yours truly as it's kind of like getting to play with finger paints, and my face often ends up resembling the exposed innards of some weird Star Wars creature by the time mask application is complete. Fun times. Anyway, if you like skincare things made out of food and have the maturity level of a preschooler you should give it a try!

IMG_2641 (2).JPG

And now I am going to go curl up with my corgi baby and read a story about the Phaistos Disk. Hope you all are having a fabulous evening!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's strawberry carcass smeared iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here!

Sort:  

Ah Kat! What a Berrylicious post!! (loved your Smashing Pumpkins reference, btw)
We just got in late last night from nearly 3 weeks on the road! I tried to pop on now and then during the trip, but really was not consistent. Then as if by the grace of the Steemit god, I opened my feed last night and saw posts from @canadianrenegade, @scribblingramma and yourself, all in a row! 3 of my favorite content creators!

Anyway, loved your post, as usual. Homemade preserves are always the best! My dad sent us home with a dozen jars of his own Marmelada, that's the Portuguese word for marmelade and he makes it from his own quince tree. Also, we took a portable freezer in the back of the truck so we also brought a few pounds if his home made linguica! Yum!

I'm looking forward to trying your mask! My favorite lately has been using raw goat milk kefir as a mask, especially once it's gone sour. I'm sure yours smells and tastes much better though!

Why thank you CBM, you have been missed round here:)

I'm glad you caught the Pumpkins reference (I had a feeling you would:) We had an after school music Bingo program for teens at the library this past week and called out band names instead of numbers. Smashing Pumpkins came up and not a child knew who they were, sads...

It sounds like you had a heck of a trip, and the Marmelada sounds divine, super YUM!

The goat milk kefir mask sounds super therapeutic! I'm just kinda on the lazy and/or exhausted side most nights and the honey/strawberry thing comes together quick. Sometimes I throw a bit of blended oats in the mix too, but mostly it's just the two ingredients, and it's funny, but I don't mind it a bit if I get a taste of the mask here and there, lol!

So glad to hear from you! You are one of my favorite content creators ever!!!!

Thanks for the shout-out mama! We love your content too. -Aimee

What a berry good blog. Haha. Funny you should mention pumpkins today. My son and I started what we hope will be our own pumpkin patch on our balcony. I figure if I can get them to grow then it will beat having to transport them home for Halloween. Wish us luck:)

That is genius ... freezing the berries separately.I hate how frozen strawberries usually come in a slab. Way to let us 'steempeeps' in on the secret to a glowing complexion. I actually brought home some strawberries tonight and I have some honey ... I may give it a try.

You had a very fruitful day ... see I can do that too ... you deserve some feet up time:)

Awe, thank ye for the berry kind compliment, LOL!

I can't wait to see and hear how the balcony pumpkin experiment goes, that's exciting, and I bet your son can't wait to see what grows:)

Sometimes I throw some ground oats in my strawberry honey mask, but honestly, I just love the two ingredient concoction, I swear I can feel the vitamin C in action, lol!

Gonna go rest now, it has been a long day at the livestock show, hope you had a lovely weekend!

I tried and loved the cookies, but Im not sure the face mask would help the Old Guy's mug. You know the whole lipstick on a pig and such...

Oh come on Old Guy! It's good for the pores! LOL LOL!

Happy Father's Day my friend, hope you had a great one:o)

Today I start our berry picking. Normally I do 50# also, but the freezer inventory indicated I had 20 qts left so this year it will be around 35#.

It all goes into the freezer as whole berries. I do no have enough cookie sheets, or space in my 4 freezers to freeze individually as you describe. I merely hull, wash, set in a colander to drain, put into quart boxes, and freeze. I start picking at 8AM and they are in the freezer by noon.

When I want a few berries, I just use a spoon handle and pop a few out. I've been doing it this way for 20 years. (Our freezers are kept a 0F.) So much easier than handling them another time, frozen.

Ooh! I love food inventory time! Especially when it shows that I have less work to do, lol!

I used to and sometimes still do occasionally freeze berries without individually freezing them, but I eat quite a few smoothies these days and hate fighting with a spoon or butter knife to get them off of the berry slab.

Hope your berry picking went well and that you had a fantastic weekend!!!

We pick and process them by noon when we pick so they don't get mushy, and I've only had a problem with "berry slab" once or twice when we procrastinated...

Most of mine end up in ice cream, frozen smoothies...

Hey Kat, I am glad @crowbarmama tagged us in her reply otherwise I might have missed this awesome post. I've had some freelance work come in so between that and babies I've been neglecting Steemit a little. I love that your son gives your jam preferential treatment, as he should. As a child we had a basement shelf filled with jam from my grandma. Whenever necessary, I'd saunter downstairs to grab another jar not even realizing that one day the shelf wouldn't replenish itself. But I'm glad I have the memory. And store bought jam doesn't hold a candle to home made. as always, loved the writing. -Aimee

It's good to know Carver's has an ample supply of strawberries this year; our patch has not done well so far. But it may recover and produce wonderful berries yet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94