You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Gots Me A Green Eggy! - ColorChallenge: ThursdayGreen

in #homesteading7 years ago

Dear tell me what kind of food, natural food do you give to your hen because i am a little hen and i give food only corn to eat, and they do not give me eggs during 6 months i have a chicken with them, around 20 days i bough some dietary food specially for hen and they star to give me eggs but i have a question, do you know a plant or a natural food for hen. If you know tell me please
Best regard.

Sort:  

Hey man! I will try to help the best I can... how old are you chickens? It takes 6 months after being born for them to start laying eggs.

Corn is not good for them, especially in the heat.

I feed mine organic chicken feed that I buy, I don't know where you're located so I don't know what they sell for you there.

My chickens also free range on my 20 acres. Eating whatever suits them.

I can't help you much because I don't know where you live and what's available there. You can grow things for them also. Like planting and growing some barley seed.

Thanks ok our chickens and hen are one yeard old but they do not put eggs
During this time but you have reason we only give corn for eat
We are in El Salvador Central America and. in my case we have around 2 hectareas, but i prepared a closed space to controller better and in this little space we have only 6 hen as an experiment, we only prepared corn we do not grown up barley seeds, here it is not posible i will try with sorgo that it is other grains.
Ok thanks for your response
I hope it would be better than industrial food that i try the last day with corn but i think maybe exist a plant natural that help our hen for give us a lot of eggs.
Thanks a lot.

You can definitely grow and feed grains to them. But they need protein very badly along with calcium supplemented - also be sure to provide grit if you can. If you can find something like this locally? Chicken forage seed, maybe! It also lists what seeds are in there, maybe you can find those!

In the winter time, is there a lot less light? Once there's less than 14 hours of light a day, they may start also laying less.

Thank you so much i find the list of food for trying to get eggs directly, of our hen, do you say the hen sleep early, in our case it sleep around from 6pm to 6 am of the next day. I try to do more light
Thank for the information i appreciate for be better cuality of life to be producer our own food.
Take care best regard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87