Sort:  

Interesting post. We don't usually see the insides except in cross section

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. Generally we just get to see the rings, not the various layers exposed like this. The tree really feels like an onion as I split it. I can chop down parrallel-ish to the rings and pull off thin sheets of the tree that split along the sap line. Really wild and makes me wonder what would cause this to happen to large parts of the tree.

you might also want to look into the #naturalmedicine tag. they have a few rules, but the server support is awesome. dm me if u need an invite. ps. nice trees. i so dig those colors!

I agree with torico! naturalmedicine tag is also supporting homesteaders like you!

Right on. I have seen the tag around but hadn't looked to far into it. I just read the FAQ post @naturalmedicine posted yesterday. Thanks! I will start using the tag more. Fits with many of my post subjects.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @torico.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

I hate splitting fir, it's a royal pain. This one doesn't look like it was much fun either. Can I ask what do you use a maul? Or an ax? Those are some hefty pieces you got there!

I have an easier time with fir over the pine. Mostly since my fir have pretty nice straight grains so they split quite easily. The ponderosa pines here have a grain that doesn't split so easily. At least by hand.

My maul is my precious. It was left with the other tools from the prior owner when we bought our place a decade ago. It is an antique 8 pound head that I recently broke the original handle off of, so replaced with a new handle and rubber guard.

(will post this morning about my baby.)

I also have a whole heap of metal splitting wedges of various shapes and sizes. I tend to not need them most times but am damned glad to have them when I do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29