I finished the plastic mulch puzzle in the garden!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Not easy when the puzzle pieces are so big!


After I had put the youngest down for his nap, then checked the hives, I was finally able to get to the garden again. The plastic was all rolled-ish but not labeled in any way so it took pulling each piece out and discerning the proper place to make the puzzle fit and come together. 2 of the pieces are 50 feet by 20 feet so it take a while to get them each moved around and then evened up.

The plastic is all 4 mil thick, which is not very thick, but many of the pieces are 3 years old or more. It is not a quick thing to cut new holes in rows and the plastic is fully reusable. The thinner plastic that is almost like pallet wrap, that stuff is only good for one season. I prefer my drip and my plastic that are able to be reused for many years. It cuts down on the costs other than time. It takes a little longer to save and reuse the plastic, but it saves a few hundred dollars a year.

IMG_20180424_154240417-2.jpg

I also made myself a gate for one of the long sides of the garden. It worked out well since the fence had a seam I could split. I have never had an honest gate on this side of the garden so this is a total luxury for myself that is taking some getting used to. I still keep walking around since I'm not remembering it is there. Such a simple thing like this can be such a luxury.

IMG_20180424_142828044_HDR-1.jpg

It's a good feeling to be productive. This is why winters are so hard. I need this kind of work for my head.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Looks like you got a good space. I wish you the best! 👍

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39