Planted My Tomato Garden Today

in #homesteading6 years ago

So I planted my garden today. It consists of one tomato plant that is expected to become a really huge tomato plant over summer. I fed it my homemade humanure compost with some additives to keep it fed all summer long.

I only planted this one plant this year because I like tomato plants and because I will be gone most of this summer as I bike across America (3000 miles on a bicycle). Tomato plants tend to do very well here unattended. However my wife Addie will be home to enjoy the sweet tasty cherry tomatoes it provides.

DSCF5863.JPG

DSCF5864.JPG

This deer has been eyeing my tomato plant.

DSCF5867.JPG

Brought to you by:
FBD Sticker Add.jpg

Sort:  

I'm going to walk the 300 miles down to your garden and steal all the tomatoes .

I'm going to ebeg for an upvote Doc . My life will not be complete until I reach 20 points . LOL
( american homestead ) hit me with 1 down-vote back when we started this . 14 up-votes and one down-vote . I went from 25 to 18 in one shot . A few of us were hit hard by this " once a fruitloop supporter ".

im not full power yet after my last mass upvoting. but i will give you enough to rise some...

Thanks Doc

you have been raised to 21 enjoy :)

Good luck on your trip Doc .

Only time will tell who gets the tomatoes, the deer or Addie. I raised 2 tomato plants for 2 years. They were both Topsy-Turvy upside down plants but both died from lack of water. We had too many long vacations.

my humanure compost uses sawdust in it which soaks up water and stores it in the wood and the roots retrieve it as needed without drowning or getting root rot. so the plants tend to be able to go about 2 weeks without watering as long as they get a good slow soaking first. look up huglekulture :)

Here in Italy as a summer dish we prepare the caprese. It is a simple dish composed of: tomato, mozzarella, basil, salt and oil .... Freshness! If you like it or want to approach the world of plants I would be happy to let you read some of my posts! =)

sounds yum. feel free to leave a link to your post of it here...

This is an old post that I did on seed germination, I hope you like it and can be useful! Thanks to the availability! =)

https://steemit.com/ita/@cooltivar/i-semi-la-germinazione-botanical-the-seeds-germination-eng-ita

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06