You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardships on the Homestead: Working away from the Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

I don't even work outside the home but realize the same troubles as you do while working outside. I think mostly it comes down to me taking for granted my time available. I also wait a lot on my husband (he does work outside the home) to finish things up because either 1) I know he wants to be a part of it, 2) wants to add his 2 cents, or 3) I just can't manage the task on my own.

One of the first blogs I made was about How Steemit is Great for your Homestead! Touching on many of the same points as you are here. I'm sorry if you've read it already!!

I am sorry about your gazebo. Similar thing happened to a cheapy greenhouse of ours... But, it was tied down... just not sufficiently. Ha. We've had lots of mishaps like tools breaking (weed eater, rototiller) just days after having purchased it. It's frustrating. Ugh.

But we're all here and can now support each other in many different ways. I'm glad that I could even give you those $0.04 to help you. Haha.

Sort:  

Much appreciated.

I can relate to you on the strong winds! My fiance and I are just getting started on our homestead and our camper gets rocked by some of the winds that come through. Next step, anchor it down! Great to find you on here @bluerthangreen and @farmstead. I love the like minds and hearts in this community! Excited to follow y'alls journey.

I think high winds are my absolute least favorite weather! Ack!

It can be pretty intense for sure. Gotta make sure everything is anchored to the earth!

Hahah Yeah! I don't even want to put out my nice chairs and umbrella on the back porch! So sad.

Retractable umbrellas and very very sturdy outdoor furniture. :) I'm thinking we'll have to go with some fairly sturdy wood outdoor furniture for it to have a chance to not blow away in the fall windy season. Lots of potential for a small residential wind turbine. I think the vertical ones will progress quite a lot in the near future.

I DEFINITELY need a windmill or something to take advantage of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48