Do you know how easy it is to change the brakes on your car? Let me show you.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Let's Change the Brakes on my 91 Honda Accord!!

Screenshot_20180204-164356.png

Your vehicle may vary but here is a list of the tools we will need;

  • A jack
  • Lug Wrench/Tire Iron
  • a flathead screwdriver (optional)
  • a 3/8 drive ratchet
  • a 12mm socket
  • a 3/8 extension
  • caliper piston specialty tool (not required on all vehicles)

Screenshot_20180204-164420.png

Here is a video showing you how its all done. I started the video after the tire was removed.

So here is the basic process summed up.

  • loosen lug nuts
  • jack car up so tire is off the ground
  • remove lug nut cover(if vehicle is equipped with one) lug nuts and tire
  • break loose one caliper bolt, break loose the other and remove both
  • remove caliper housing
  • remove old brake pads and retainer clips
  • install new retainer clips and brake pads
  • compress caliper piston (special tool may be required depending on your vehicle, see picture below)
  • reinstall caliper housing
  • reinstall caliper bolts, snug one up, then the other, then tighten down both
  • reinstall tire, lugnuts and optional lug nut cover
  • lower vehicle back down
    Screenshot_20180204-164518.png

Here are a few more shots from under the car


Screenshot_20180204-164555.png


Screenshot_20180204-164617.png


I realized after watching the video that when I was talking about the time involved in this task I was only figuring one side, so in all, you would spend maybe an hour on this for both sides. A shop may be able to do it in 30 minutes, but they have a vehicle lift ($5000+) so they are not working on the ground and they have the specialty tools($200+) that works better than the all in one tool I was using. So you could spend $100 at a shop to get your brakes changed in 30 minutes, or you can spend an hour at home yourself and save $50-$70. I prefer to do it myself and save money.

What How-to Steemit post would be complete without proof the repair worked? Here is a short video showing just that! I think you will get a kick out of it.

Proof of Brakes


Hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know in the comments if you have ever changed your brakes yourself and if so, was there anything I could have/should have done different.

If you have never changed your brakes before, after watching this video do you feel confident enough to attempt it on your own?

Don't be afraid to try, you never know what you might learn about yourself in the process.

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks for educating me on this. Nice post.

You are welcome @sirmiraculous. Glad you liked it.

I'm watching the Right To Repair movement with a keen eye. The things we purchase these days are never really ours. "Qualified technicians" and approved dealership/service centers only. There is nothing on a 2018 car that you can do anything about, except getting ripped off.

That is a very good video and a great cause. I would 100% support the right to repair for all.

Thanks for sharing this video. I've heard about this, but hearing the farmers talking give great insight into their situation. I couldn't imagine being in a position where I could not fix my own tool that I use to make a living. It's extortion. @ironshield

Easy Cheesie nice job 👍🏻

Proof of breaks - omph. Ha ha ha ha ha! @ironshield

It would have been funnier if the seat belt hadn't locked up so soon. I didn't give him any warning that's what I was going to do, I just told him I needed him to come along for the ride.

I can never find my piston cube when I need it so I used the father in laws trick of a using a small (3 inch from memory) G Clamp to very slowly push the piston back and that works just as well.

Great post btw.

That's interesting. I use the C-clamp to push in a normal caliper piston but I'd be curious to find out how you get the C-clamp to rotate this screw type piston, I wasn't able to get that done on my wife's van that's why I had to buy the tool.

My old rx7 piston had the markings/slots for a special tool but seemed to work with a clamp too. Just depends on the manufacturer and setup I guess.

I've never changed my break pads on my car, but I know it's a lot cheaper to 'DIY'. Thanks for the video, glad it got posted! RESTEEMED! @ironsheild

Thank you.

Tweeting

me parece que es un material bien explicativo y sera util siempre

Gracias

Congratulations @dwells, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2671 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $9801.42. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

very good post very educational especially for people who have cars and want to save a few dollars many thanks was much teaching

You are welcome kind sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60